Daily Archives: May 15, 2012

To the woman who accosted me on my way to the para transit van tonight.

Standard

I agreed to meet you tomorrow.

That was before you made it clear that I really do not want to meet you tomorrow.

It is not ever okay to demand that I look at your face, especially not by getting in my face. For the record, I didn’t see your face even when you did that. I saw a weird swirl of blue and brown. Since your skin is pale and you have blonde hair, I’m pretty certain none of that was your face. That’s what happens when you seriously overload a person with bad visual perception. I was using those eyes before you wrecked them like that.

It is never okay to demand that I hook pinkies with you and “pinky swear” that I remember your face and will meet you tomorrow. Especially after I have done everything in my power to pull away from you when you held out your pinky in ever more intrusive ways.

It is not okay to then, after I have had a clearly negative reaction any time you got near me, come after me and demand a high five.

Most of this conversation happening in the tone you use to talk to a little kid.

It is doubly not okay to respond to my terror and attempts to back away from you and cover my head and face, by saying “YOU SHITHEAD!”

To be perfectly clear:

I do not want to meet you tomorrow. Or ever.

I do not want to talk to you.

I do not want to touch you.

In fact, of the three, I want that one the least. So don’t, ever, make another attempt to touch me. Don’t lean towards me or get in my face either. That makes me feel like you’re inside me somehow.

Because of you, I may not make it back tomorrow. Not for fear of you. Although that’s a consideration. But rather because your actions turned a good but tiring day into overload and excruciating pain.

My mind is running in circles. I could not answer some very simple questions when I go home.

I was barely able to get to bed from my wheelchair because of your actions.

Because doing that all to me had actual consequences towards my ability to think, understand, and move.

I might not get to sleep in time to go back tomorrow. It takes my brain time to recover from that kind of assault and sometimes it takes that out of the time I need to be sleeping. Or I may be too overloaded by tomorrow. Or too tired. And you would be the main reason for that.

I’m not a child. I don’t pinky swear. I don’t do patronizing sing-song voices. I don’t like to be touched by strangers and I don’t like strangers trying to force me to look at their faces, touch them, or promise them anything. And I don’t like being called a shithead for not responding to these things or looking terrified by these things. That goes double if you said shithead in the same light-hearted, patronizing way you would to a cat who just put their teeth on you for petting them too long. So don’t think that “I was just joking” would change my mind.

Oh and if you wonder why I didn’t just type this when I was with you? Because your presence rendered me unable to type from the get-go. That’s always a very bad sign for any future interactions. It doesn’t just happen around random people, it happens around people who are peculiarly invasive.

If I see you tomorrow and you have read this: DO NOT talk to me, touch me, joke with me about what happened tonight, hang around near me acting huffy, or any other direct or indirect interaction with me. I can’t take it. I couldn’t take what you did already. Enough is enough. FFS.

Also? If you hadn’t put me through all that, I wouldn’t be refusing to talk to you anymore. I would meet you tomorrow, or not, and either way things wood be fine. So don’t blame me. I’m just trying to watch out for my health. (Yes, literally. Which is why I’m not budging on this.)