Links: “Every thoughtful, moral individual right now belongs in the streets”

Standard

I’d been meaning to write a post on this myself, but I couldn’t figure out the words. Fortunately a friend has figured out those words already, so all I have to do is link to her post. She also gives some ideas for people who can’t go to these things. (Like me. If I can barely get out of bed, I can’t exactly go to a protest — which is pretty infuriating right now. But I can send these links about it so other people hear.)

Here’s her post:

Every thoughtful, moral individual right now belongs in the streets

Some other links on this issue that people have sent me:

Articles:

Behind the Scenes of #OccupyWallStreet
The Best Among Us
Occupy Wall Street Protest Migrates to Montreal
Europe Stunned After Being Told “Obama Is Not In Charge”

Livestream (not captioned, don’t have transcripts):

Global Revolution

Youtube (not captioned, don’t have transcripts):

Occupy Wall Street (FULL) Interview with Chris Hedges Part 1
msnbc video Rewriting Occupy Wall Street protests Lawrence O’Donnell The Last Word
Unbelievable protest footage. NYPD drag girl across the street
The People Occupy Wall Street While Wall Street Dreams of Another Recession
Countdown With Keith… Michael Moore on support of Occupy Wall Street protest

I’ve seen other videos but I can’t find them anymore.

Apparently the best places to follow all this are on Twitter (#occupywallst, #occupytogether, #globalrevolution, and others) and on that Livestream video. One video I saw (can’t find it now) said that — at the time the video was made — CNN was covering a small Tea Party meeting in a Denny’s but wasn’t covering any of this at all. And many media reports that do exist have false or misleading information.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

10 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing, Amanda. I had heard about this before but didn’t really know what it was all about………that’s what I get for not beling able to follow the news regularly……….and anyway the media would probably tell half truths at best about whats really going on here.

    Granted that not being able to do (in your own opinion) much more than spread news about this is infuriating, at the same time you’re performing a very important function (for lack of better expression…….damned language) to help those who are involved in protests……..to spread the word and the truth, that others who are able can join them……..and others can learn about this……..

    again thanks for sharing. .

    You might not feel like you’re working hard but you are…….you had to take your thoughts from the valley and climb into the mountains…..to put them into words. (Hmmm this comes off as an assumption on my part……is it true? )

    Don’t forget to rest……

  2. Thanks, elmindreda. These are scary times, and they’re only getting scarier. But this gives me hope we may not completely trash the country, and the world with it.

  3. Yes indeed, these are scary times. My dad was talking with some relatives yesterday………..and everyone thinks Obama won’t win another term. That’s scary because of who could win instead of him…………

    Please pass me some of that hope you have.

    Concerning the occupation of wall street: it’s about f***ing time.

    And I thought the years before 2008 were bad……………

  4. Republicans winning would be bad. Obama winning would be better, but still quite bad. The Democrats in general are moving further to the right and Obama is not an exception there. He’s also very much on the side of corporations, even when it means massive destruction of the environment. He’s not the wonderful guy a lot of people think he is — at least not as president. And these protests exist partly because of horrible, destructive policies that he’s helped create and promote.

  5. Here’s a gem for you (sarcasm of course)

    I was reading a news article on my phone (omg im still soooooooooo triggered) in which one investment banker said of the protesters on Wall street:

    “These people are whiny, lazy and incompetent and have nothing to do with their time;” or something like that. If you want I’ll try and track down the actual quote………\

    and then this nutcase goes on to say that he’s worried about violence, that “some people might attack us” or whatever…………or “who’s to say that people won’t grab a banker and throttle him?”

    again paraphrasing. If you have to delete this comment because it hurts your brain, I totally understand.

    what a bloody idiot…………I just…………….ARGHHHHHHHH!

  6. oh, and not only that………….the friggin NYPD is alerting people of protester activity. So that they can further wall themselves off from us, right?

    I think THAT would make the likelihood of violence greater………peaceful protesters not being heard…….ignored repeatedly………

  7. Amanda, in case you had not already learned about these, and in case you are still looking for ways to be involved with the Occupy movement, I have recently found some facebook groups and other resources that may be of interest. I’m not going to incorporate the hypertext links for these because that seems to be the sort of thing that tends to land my comments in the spam filter. I hope that copy/pasting these will be manageable:

    There is now apparently a few facebook groups related to “Occupy” and disability issues:

    Occupy Disabled:
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-Disabled/308434755853065?sk=wall

    Occupy on Wheels
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-On-Wheels-Awareness-Inclusion-Solidarity/148943308537637

    Krips Occupy Wall Street
    http://www.facebook.com/ashettle#!/groups/kripsoccupywallstreet/

    Occupy at Home
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Occupy-at-Home/210265929046061?ref=ts&sk=wall
    This facebook page is for people to exchange information and ideas for supporting the Occupy movement from home for any reason, whether disability illness or something else.

    Discovered with a google search was this video – I believe it is not captioned (so people like me can’t watch it) but it is about how people who cannot leave home easily due to disability or health can be more involved with the Occupy movement:

    And there is a collection of links to various blog posts on disability in relation to the Occupy movement at

    http://aftergadget.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/disability-occupy-disability-blog-carnival-79/
    I have not yet had a chance to follow the links, but the links lead to people with a range of opinions both pro and anti Occupy movement but all looking at it from a disability angle.

    Hope these are helpful.

Leave a Reply

