Unpigmented hair!

Standard

Yes, I have more substantial posts planned, but for now…

one white hair on a background of black hair

several white hairs on a background of black hair

These photos show that I have just found my first white hairs! It was quite startling at first (I didn’t realize that it often happens around the age of thirty, which is exactly my age), but now I am eager to get more of them. I think unpigmented hair is cool-looking and it has an interesting texture too. I always said I was looking forward to getting grey hair. And people told me I’d be really freaked out by it when the time came because they symbolize mortality to people on a gut level. But I’m not freaked out. I just think it’s cool. At first I thought it was only one hair, but then I looked around and found some more. (My hair is so dense that it’s easy for single hairs and even small bald spots to hide just depending on the position of the hair.) Maybe I’ll decide to keep my hair for awhile so I can look for more of them. If anything I find this exciting. Then again I’ve been excited by life lately in general, and any little discovery is even more exciting.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

16 responses »

  1. Congratulations! (I think they are pretty, too — and yes, I have seen other people start to get them in their late 20s/early 30s.)

    Me, I’m hoping it will come in in streaks. :)

  2. I always had a few white hairs, even as a kid, oddly enough. Since my late 30’s it’s become more than a few, though.

    One thing about long hair when it’s going white is sometimes you can find one that is dark at one end and white at the other, so you can see the progression of the change (reminds me of counting tree growth rings, in a way).

    Mine go a sickly yellow color in the middle, but ultimately turn a nice shade of white.

    Anyway, congrats!

  3. I am happy for you! Your paternal grandmother’s hair turned white overnight when she was just 18. I can’t imagine waking up, looking in the mirror, and wondering who that was looking back at me.

    I have always been fascinated by white hair. When I was a girl there were two elderly women with cotton candy like hairstyles and pure white hair. I thought I couldn’t wait to have hair like that. They were quite adventurous for their age and time and were always tinting their hair light pastel colors like pink, green or blue.

    At any rate, I think you have passed me on numbers of unpigmented hair! Mine so far tend toward the silver.

  4. My mum WANTED white hairs much earlier than she got them. She got her first at 50. She was really pleased – she was tired of people thinking she died her hair.

  5. I think it’s kinda cool, too. Congrats! :)

    I’m 2 years younger than you, and occasionally I have found a whitish/grey hair.

    We had a family friend who had cancer and went through chemo and the hair loss that often accompanies chemo, and when her hair grew back it was a really distinguished silver color. Everyone said that it looked fantastic on her.

  6. I have one white hair (that I’ve discovered), and I’m twenty. I don’t mind, although I fear getting pressured to yank it out or dye it, both of which I know I would hate. But I like it.

  7. I had my first few unpigmented hairs when I was about age 9. Then I developed alopecia (entirely unrelated!), or to be more precise my alopecia progressed further than it had up to this point. I am now very near completely bald, with only a few natural hairs left on my scalp at all. I would have to double check but I think all the ones I have are pigmented, so I technically have no white hairs at all–but would probably have a lot if my hair did miraculously grow back. I wear a wig with no unpigmented hairs.

  8. I tend to think grey hairs show that one is old enough to have experience and potential wisdom and maturity and therefore should be a mark of pride rather than a fearsome thing. I kind of regret that at 37 I haven’t any yet.

    However I have decided I want to be a long-haired old woman and started growing my hair, which is a shock to the system since my hair has been shaved short for going on 15 years. It’s long enough to move around now when I move my head, which feels very odd, and I’m beginning to experience tangles!

  9. i find mine annoying only because they started coming when i was working on g’s immigration paperwork so to me they symbolize worry. but in fact how they look like is kind of cool. not as striking as yours because the contrast is more when you have the dark hair like yours, but at least some natural highlights – lol

  10. You just be happy that you are not a boy-type person! I’ll be 60 right soon, and my beard has been un-pigmented since I was 35 or so. (Stress will do that to you.) I have found, when shaving my face, that the un-pigmented face hairs are tougher and harder to shave than they were when they were brownish-colored. Add to this that one’s skin gets more fragile as he gets older, and you can see why some of us doddering old geezers refrain from shaving our faces every day.

Leave a Reply

