“The internets kill the soul.”

Standard

Which is quote from this post from flip flopping joy.

Can’t word much a lot right now due to ongoing medical stuff (incapacitating but not bad, will fill in later) so all can say is go read that post.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

9 responses »

  1. I can’t claim to understand the blog politics that are apparently going on, but I definitely sympathize with Native peoples having their issues shoved under the rug. I don’t remember the word, but the nazis had a word that basically referred to the idea that they could populate other territories, and then completely wipe out the populations there so that they would no longer be significant. They intended to do this in the Soviet Union, for instance, and repopulate it with Germans.

    Apparently in many people’s minds, this has already happened with the various Native peoples who were living in this continent. The average person thinks “What happened to them was sad, but it’s not my fault and they are no longer relevant. It’s time to move on and anyone trying to make an issue of these things is being unreasonable.”

    This is just such a directly fascist mindset that it’s not acceptable at all, and yet it is completely normal and accepted by mainstream society. I don’t think that’s an aberration, I think that says something about what mainstream society is really like.

    If someone attempting to challenge that kind of thinking has really been beat into submission, that’s quite sad and really quite a setback. In general I am pretty exasperated with White so called “feminists” in the US, who really seem more motivated towards taking the global role of White men more than they are interested in reaching any kind of widespread equality for people. Equality should not mean joining the oppressors.

    This is one problem I have with many autistic people as well, actually. Maybe White autistics have no motivation to challenge oppression in a more widespread manner, so we shouldn’t even expect them to. Maybe we can’t blame White autistics who are faced with the choice between being accepted in a deeply racist and oppressive society, or being discriminated against, imprisoned, and possibly killed. But it seems to me that the “autistic consciousness” is very short sighted and only useful for certain things. I think those of us who really care about making deep changes in how people think and in helping people who are oppressed have to go beyond the autistic experience to do so. If the majority of White autistic people won’t do that, they should still be supported in their desire to be treated like people.

  2. I wonder which is worse…..cyberbullying because of bullies having anonymity…..or in person bullying. Or both are equally shitty just in some different ways….yeah I think it’s that.

    Can really related to feeling eaten up and shat out….for different reasons tho atm.

  3. Okay, there’s something weird going on where I can see my comment but it’s not showing up in “Recent Comments,” so I assume that you have comments set to be approved or something, and you are going to update this blog post later and allow comments then. So I don’t know if I should be leaving a reply or not, but hopefully at least you are going to see this eventually, so I’m going to say something anyway.

    I just wanted to say that it kind of hit me all at once how much of a risk you all are taking simply be running a blog like this, writing about your opinions, and even putting out a little bit of personal information about yourself to help us understand context. I have kind of been wishing recently that I could run a blog of my own, but I just realized that even if I was up to it intellectually and in terms of knowledge, there’s no way I could actually keep it up in the long term. It’s hard for me just to talk about some things, so I have no idea how I would handle the various kinds of harassment that is occurring to people. I am so thankful that people like you are willing to put yourselves at risk like this for us, and I respect you (both singular and plural) a lot for it. I don’t know if there’s really anything at all that I can do, but you have my personal support in this nonetheless.

    And if there is something I can do, please tell me. This is cowardly of me, but I’m not willing to join the line of fire in any way. Still, if there’s something I can do to discourage harassment and bullying behavior, both generally and in particular, please let me know.

  4. Regarding the Native blogger bullied out of her circle of wowmen, my understanding is that the problem has less to do with a white versus non-white conflict, and more with the fact that both the white women and the women of color in the situation can’t handle the fact that the blogger is multiracial. This kind of discomfort is something that I just don’t understand. I see it in folks who are uncomfortable with bisexual people, with transgendered people, with multiracial people, etc. as though we are all supposed to be All One Thing and there is no room for complexity, ambiguity, and seeing things from more than one perspective. The pressure to choose uniformity and simplicity, whether it comes from white or non-white people, is deeply frightening to me, because it’s what’s ultimately behind all forms of oppression.

  5. No one is any “race” at all as far as I’m concerned. People focus on arbitrary characteristics to define one’s race. One of the best examples of this is how we consider “Black” to be a race here, but in Africa there all different kinds of races that we could be talking about. Yet if someone from Nigeria came to the US and became naturalized, mainstream society would view him as a Black person rather than Hausa, Fulani, Yoruba, etc; features that were once considered the height of racial division are now deemed irrelevant.

    I think that “nations” do exist in a more real way, in the sense that people will use the term “nation-state,” although a nation might not have its own state. As a real-thing, nations have a beginning and ending. I think the US is a multi-national country, and that most nations are in a subservient or subdued position. I think the Native peoples comprise multiple nations that have been beat into submission. I think that if the blogger’s nose is the wrong shape or if her skin is too pale that is absolutely the stupidest reason to exclude someone, and depends on all kinds of biases against Native peoples.

  6. Rachel: I suspect what you are describing is often the result of “widgets running rampant” (and that’s sort of one of the inherent weaknesses of widgets, regardless of their usefulness for a lot of people — which I acknowledge even though I myself don’t find them very useful or even usable). As in, some people seem to have this idea that in order to even discuss one form of oppression, you have to be able to declare all these specific conditions about who is being oppressed, and those conditions are often a heck of a lot too narrow to accommodate a whole lot of actual people. Which of course means those actual people keep getting pushed to the margins (on account of being “neither one thing nor the other”, at least in discourses that depend on everyone agreeing to believe in certain dichotomies).

  7. Agreed with AnneC.

    Whether or not there is any such thing as “race” in the “true” sense of the word … whether or not there is any such thing as a “black” person or a “white” person or a “Latino” person or whatever … people still face DISCRIMINATION and oppression and exclusion and marginalization on the basis of what others PERCEIVE as “your race.” So whether or not you believe race exists, it is STILL the basis of a great deal of harm and destruction done by certain humans to other humans. Same for gender (another concept that is fuzzier than many people think) or disability or religion or any other formula that people may use to define identity–their own or others’. Claiming that there is no such thing as a “person of color” does nothing to stop institutionalized racism.

  8. I think Blacks comprise a nation along with the Native peoples. So they are also nationally oppressed. I also think there is something called “social opression.” Autistic people are socially oppressed, as are people who are percieved as being members of certain races. However, in regards to Blacks, Native people’s, etc this is more of a cultural manifestation of their national opression. There is a reason why no one discriminates against the Irish anymore (in the US anyway).

    I’m not sure why you’re acting like you’re contradicting me on most of this. Except for “Claiming that there is no such thing as a ‘person of color’ does nothing to stop institutionalized racism.” Well, yes it does. Otherwise you are just lending credence to unreasonable modes of thoughts that result from the power structure.

  9. Thank you for linking to that. It’s just as well that I didn’t get to this before now, because I needed to read that today, apparently.

    It’s rotten when someone challenges your “right” to be in a particular community.

    No one is going to fit in every box one has to define one’s community. Being mean about someone’s failure to fit Box D (or, in my case, apparently, Box P) has no real purpose. Something is lost when a community excludes, and even if it’s not with the internets, the soul is harmed.

Leave a Reply

