Blogger/Blogspot has an inaccessible comment mode

Standard

Arguably the biggest reason I can blog now is my iPod touch. It allows me not only to communicate in words in the offline world while lying down (impossible otherwise), thereby potentially saving my life. But it also allows me to blog and read blogs while lying down. Despite its inaccessibiloty in other areas, it is nearly perfect for someone with my particular skills and difficulties.

But then there is this new commenting mode for blogger. No matter which option I choose, if I am on my iPod I get an error. It’s the one with the pulldown menu and is the bane of my online existence. I am totally unable to comment on blogs that use it.

Taking a Third Option is one of several blogs I follow that use the evil comment mode.

Existence is Wonderful uses the most convenient of the several other options I can use. (Convenient because it doesn’t require me to be logged into blogger, which is nearly impossible ever since Google took over Blogger thereby meaning it is linked to my gmail accounts and makes life a huge hassle.)

Ones that require I log into something are somewhere in between. Because I could technically do it but inertia being what it is, don’t hold your breath. But unlike the evil comment mode, those are at least theoretically possible. I generally use the Name/URL format.

But I figured I should at least let people know of the accessibility headache that one comment mode creates for anyone who might for whatever reason find using the iPod their best bet at being online at all. Which probably includes lots of people who like me have the motor skills to use one but are frequently horizontal.

11 responses »

  1. Yeah, I changed my comment mode when someone on a mailing list brought up accessibility issues on another site. I used to disallow anonymous comments because I did not want to deal with spam (or with people potentially leaving anonymous harassment messages) but when I learned that this policy made it impossible for some people to comment, I figured it was worth doing a bit more work in the moderation department if it made my blog more accessible for legitimate commenters.

    And, really, while the spam is annoying it is also pretty manageable. I get email notifications whenever anyone comments, so I know if I’ve been spammed, so I can quickly delete the spam. (And I would do the same with any trolling or harassing comments).

    I also learned a VERY useful thing from someone else who uses Blogger (can’t recall who, maybe it was at Biodiverse Resistance?) which is that you can set it to require approval for comments on posts over X days old. I have mine set to 60 days, I think, which seems to work well for me as that way if I get a bunch of spam on older posts I can go and reject all of it as a group on the moderation page. But at the same time, it does not interrupt the flow of discussion on more recent posts which are more likely to be getting comments from live, non-spammer humans. If I had to I would turn on moderation / approval mode for all posts but so far my current system seems to be working fine.

  2. The 64th edition of the disability blog carnival is now up and ready for submissions. Our theme is breaking down stereotypes: if you could break down one single stereotype, which would it be and why?

    If you can’t pick one, you can do several if you wish……

    Just letting you know in case you’re interested and have energy and spoons to write something about it.

  3. I have tried even three or four times at a go, and just the error over and over. I have given up trting because it wastes brain I could spend writing something else. Hopefully Safari will get a new version or something but until then I am stuck.

  4. Being unaware of the problem before reading this post, I promptly went over to my blog and checked the comment form… which does use the format that you can’t access. Any idea on how to change that?

    If I can figure out a way to get it to use a more accessable format for comments, I will.

  5. Yes, that comment mode sucks indeed. It hardly works with my braille display/screen reader either. Unfortunately an increasing number of Blogger users are using that mode.

  6. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Accessibility « The Blind Buzz

  7. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Accessibility « AccessTech News

  8. Pingback: The Blind Buzz on Accessibility « The BAT Channel

  9. AnneC: it was Lindsay (of Autist’s Corner), in a comment at my blog. I’ve found it incredibly useful for dealing with the amount of spam that sems to have been around recently.

Leave a Reply

