Cold.

Standard

I am writing this entirely submerged under a big pile of blankets. No part of me is sticking out.

A few minutes ago, I heard Fey jump onto the bed. I lifted up the blankets, wondering if she would poke her head in and then rapidly pull it out, finding some other place to be. She didn’t. She went straight under the covers. Then she went over the lowest blanket and under the rest, down near my belly. I felt her paws scrabbling around while she turned around several times. Then she finally curled up, and is still lying there, one blanket separating her from me.

I remember being the size of maybe two or three cats, and the way blankets turned into an interesting series of caves. But now I am much less maneuverable, and much taller. But it’s still nice to be burrowed under blankets with a cat on a day like this. (And I have to say she chose a better spot than the time about a year ago when she burrowed into my crotch while I was asleep and I dreamed I was giving birth.)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

13 responses »

  1. . (And I have to say she chose a better spot than the time about a year ago when she burrowed into my crotch while I was asleep and I dreamed I was giving birth.)

    The family cat “Garfield” did that and “Jade”. Apparently crotches are comfy.

    I am in a snuggie right now with my laptop, I can tolerate the cold to some degree but only for a half an hour before going to make some hot chocolate and hide under the covers.

  2. It’s cold here too–snuggling up with a cat sounds wonderful. (I have to admit that I giggled at your mention of Fey picking a better place to curl up this time…)

    BTW, I too used to turn the blankets into a cave. Actually, for a time the only way I could get to sleep was to make a cave out of the blankets, with the pillow as the ‘door’, and curl up in that.

    Tailwags to you and Fey!

  3. I’m not sure if there’s a certain length of time that has to elapse before I can see my comments (sorry, I’m not very computer-literate!), but there may be one in your spam filter.

    Littlewolf

  4. Hee. I remember when I lived in CT, sometimes Tim (the cat) would crawl into my bed and sleep on my chest. At one point I also had something like 7 blankets on, one of them actually being a sleeping bag.

  5. I just saw the temperatures listed for your area. The low is -1 and the high is 8. No wonder you and Fey are burrowed under blankets! Double socks and a good knit cap pulled as low on your head as is comfortable will help keep you warm as will double layers of clothing which will help trap heat. Warm soup or a hot beverage helps too.

    I think your sky will be clear tonight. I hope you can see the moon. It will be 14% larger tonight and 30% brighter then normal and will be the brightest and largest then any other time in 2010. I am still at your grandmother’s and we have overcast skies and rain so I can’t see the moon.

    I will think warm thoughts for you and Fey..

  6. Sorry about not getting to people’s comments for a bit there, I have been writing and catching up on sleep (every so often I have a few days of not sleeping much at all and then actually sleep for a long time at once rather than random naps). Problem with that is I woke up at 9 pm today. Oh well.

  7. If I ever dreamed about giving birth and then woke up with something warm and alive in my bed, I would definitely freak out.

    Meant to post condolences on your previous entry re: your grandfather, but I got a bit confused and never did, so I’m putting it here instead.

  8. While pregnant, I dreamt about giving birth to kittens; perhaps it was less scary to think about, but it still woke me with a racing heart. I am glad Fey chose a better place to nestle this time so you could rest.

    I am amazed and envious that you remember being 2-3 cats big.

    Thank you so much for your videos and blog. You are a fantastic communicator. There’s so much wonder in this world and you are helping me see more of it.

Leave a Reply

