I think this is the best theme I could get right now.

Standard

I liked the old theme, but it was incapable of widgets (I like the website kind if not the cognitive kind) so I found this one and replaced the awful cherubs with another close-up photo of Fey. All in all, I am better off using a theme I can actually work with, rather than bumbling about and using up lots of spoons trying to pretend I can understand more than the rudiments of php and stylesheets. I may or may not edit the colors on this theme or make a few minor tweaks, but overall this theme’s solidity is much more comforting than the other one’s fragility.

11 responses »

  1. I like everything about this new design–the cat, the colors, the way the boxes are shaped, the little curly-cues… Wow. I could look at it for awhile.

  2. I like the picture of Fey a lot. It has a strong tactile quality that allows me to experience Fey in more then a visual way. It reminds me of the stiffness of cat whiskers contrasting with the velvet softness of cat fur. I can almost hear her purring…Also like the one of your taking Fey out for an outdoor excursion and can see her ears and eyes are at attention. She is so observant of movement and smells. I remember this summer her sticking her nose in one of the tiger lilies you passed then watching doves nesting under a porch roof. Great pictures…

  3. Oooooh, this is absolutely beautiful. So much love and adoration in that photo. It makes me want to lean back and wrap my focus around the words… gives me space and comfort, if that makes any sense.\\(Also, it’s an excellent photograph on technical grounds :))

    The colors, too, are very easy on my eyes and the words stand out in a pleasing way.

    In short: I like.

  4. I am glad so many people seem to be getting an idea of what Fey is actually like through the photo. She is much harder to describe in words. (Which unfortunately makes it hard to write adequate descriptions of the photos for accessibility purposes.)

  5. That is a beautiful picture of Fey! Also she *does* have a look there strongly reminiscent of this expression Coraline gets sometimes…like a combination of relaxed and “serious business” (though both these particular cats seem to be “serious business” about pretty much everything, including relaxation!).

    And yeah I like this theme better than that other one you were trying out, which was very “all over the place” in some weird way, though it had some aspects I like. This one looks more organized and is more pleasant to read, though I do think tweaking the colors somewhat (to better match the picture of Fey, maybe some grayish and blue and light green tones) would improve it. The peachy color on the sides bugs me for some reason, maybe because it reminds me of that color I would never ever paint my walls. :P

  6. My computer is set to overide colours but usually I see something of the form and the design. Except that here I don’t get any of it, curlycues, shaped boxes, nothing!

    Is the picture people are talking about the one on the bottom right when I scroll down? As I get nothing at all at the top.

Leave a Reply

