I was full of crap, but I’m not now. I hope.

Standard

I just got home from the hospital. I had impacted bowels, completely obstructed bladder, as well as mild liver problems and dehydration. I was there for about five days while they catheterized me and gave me more laxatives and enemas than I care to think about (and paid more attention to my shit than anyone’s paid since I had a similar problem 10 years ago).

I’m better now, but I am exhausted, and somewhat nauseated. If I haven’t gotten to your emails, requests, comments, whatever, that’s why. Don’t expect a lot right now.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

16 responses »

  1. Hope you feel beter soon. My mom had a simliar experience–she said she was hoping that the memories of that particular experience would fade fast.

    Hang in there!

  2. I think some of the memories will fade fast, just because I was half-delirious and frequently passing out by the time they got me to the emergency room the second time (I’d basically gotten home, tried to empty my legbag, and collapsed on the way back to bed and started shaking and vomiting, which led to a 911 call on Laura’s part), and something similar to that continued through into most of the first day or so (Laura said when she first visited me I was having an animated and entirely silent conversation with the ceiling, which I remember as having weird little dancing things on it, and I also had a few seizures because I couldn’t get my anti-convulsants for a little while, so there’s several hours that are completely blank to me). The only thing right now is that every time I see anything related to an ultrasound I wince. And my hand is literally every color of the rainbow from combined blood draws and IVs. But the state of mind I was in for the worst of it probably means I won’t remember it too well, which is all in all a good thing (but I remember it enough that I’m going to keep more careful track of my body from now on).

  3. Extremely glad to hear that it wasn’t more of the last round of nerves and pain things cropping up again, or worse. And thanks Laura for the heads up too!

  4. glad to know you’re better…………we’re still smarting from a stinging “bombing” of a physics exam……….eh, life happens, right? (of course there’s really no comparison of events, but anyhow…)

    take care.

    all of us

  5. Hi Amanda..
    I am glad you’re home and feeling better….
    I was worried about you last week. I’m glad your friend Laura was there to help you!

    Please take care of yourself and write again when you feel able to!

    talk to you later
    Debbie

  6. Must be catching last might I endured one of those nights of barely tolerable gut pain and constipation.

    But that is not all that uncommon in people of my age.

    Gut pains, and cramps are the worst.

  7. Glad you’re getting better, but I must say that’s some pretty good crapblogging, almost as good as that of Og, The Neanderpundit. He has an actual true exploding toilet story somewhere on his blog. I forget the exact URL, but googling Neanderpundit will find his blog quickly.

    That’s another thing I miss about Acidman; he wasn’t afraid to do crapblogging.

Leave a Reply

