Die, nerves, die. :-P

Standard

Just a note to say I went to get my nerves killed today. It’ll take at least a week for them to completely die off. And it’s apparently just the pain nerves, so I’ll still have sensation in that side of my face.

Which means I can finally go back on the two different pain meds that I hadn’t been allowed before the procedure.

And my mom’s coming out to help me out in the meantime.

Fortunately they didn’t use as much local anesthetic this time (or else it just wasn’t too effective), which meant that the procedure hurt more but also that I’ve experienced none of the immense shock of the local anesthetic wearing off that I experienced the last two times. The procedure can’t hurt more than some of the things the nerves were doing on their own, so it wasn’t that big a deal.

From what I’m seeing on the net, the nerves eventually do grow back, but often without pain returning.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

13 responses »

  1. Glad to hear that things are progressing. Sucks that it took such a nasty crisis to get to the root of it, but it will be really awesome if you manage to get rid of this pain.

  2. Amanda,
    Am so glad to know you made it to & thru the procedure today & are back home safe & sound. Hope you get some real pain relief from this soon. Will get your Mom to the airport tomorrow -she’ll be there before you know it!
    XXXOOO
    Aunt Jodi

  3. I’m already feeling better, although I don’t know how much of that is:

    1) Relief that the procedure is finally done and that there is help on the way for managing things until I’m recovered (thus not having to spend enormous amounts of energy overextending myself).

    2) The fact that I’m allowed to go back on the other two pain meds I was on after it’s over.

    I did notice a short period of time when an area next to my eye did not hurt, even when wind blew on it, but was also not numbed. It has hurt continuously and severely for years, and especially when something’s brushing it or blowing on it. So I’m taking that as a potential good sign, even though it’s hurt since then.

    I’ve also been switched from Neurontin to Lyrica, and Trileptal has been added, so I’ll see how that goes. (It’s for pain, but I’m also hoping that if I tolerate this combination well — and tolerating anti-convulsants has always been hard, which is why I was only on Neurontin alone even though it’s supposed to always be in conjunction with something — then I will be able to use a higher dose of some pain meds that otherwise lower my seizure threshold too far.)

  4. I imagine that a big part of feeling better has to do with #1. Being overanxious (no matter how great or small the reason) for a long period of time and at a very high level, can/does translate into REAL PHYSICAL PAIN. And if you’re already in pain, it’s like salt in an open wound.

    Once that is somewhat out of the way, your pain meds can kick in and help take care of the rest…….(heh I hope I don’t sound like a doctor, I certainly don’t mean to…..)

    Glad you feel better.

    Ivan

  5. “I imagine that a big part of feeling better has to do with #1. Being overanxious (no matter how great or small the reason) for a long period of time and at a very high level, can/does translate into REAL PHYSICAL PAIN. And if you’re already in pain, it’s like salt in an open wound.”

    Yes. I have dysmenorrhea (pain due to menstruating) and often I’ll notice a minor stomachache and think nothing of it until next time I go to the bathroom and I notice the blood, at which point the pain in my uterus immediately gets worse. I strongly suspect a big part of that is knowing how severe my cramps can get – lying on the ground unable to think much about anything except for the pain – and fearing it.

Leave a Reply

