Video posted at Amanda’s request

Standard

Muskie here. Amanda is sitting next to me in agony with a freshly pulled tooth, and has asked me to post this video:

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

36 responses »

  1. Thanks for showing this to us. I had noticed some parallels, but I didn’t realize how close they were, how strong the resemblance.

    Also, I had assumed that the war was just a cover for (or distraction from) the destruction of liberty, but she makes me consider the possibility that perpetual war is an economic end in itself.

  2. Thank you for posting this – I’m passing it around where I can as well.

    Also, best wishes on a quick recovery, Amanda.

  3. Thanks for this. It is very important.
    I caught a few minutes of her interview on Book TV but didn’t pay close attention. Your video pushed me to revisit and pay closer attention to her message.
    Thanks.

  4. Many comments from random people in my life over the last several years have drawn parallels but here
    they are put in a riveting framework. Indeed history’s lessons can teach us. Thanks for posting this and I will get this to as many people as possible…Also I hope that dental pain is gone soon…

  5. I was moved to action with the keyboard. Digging further I recalled an interview on Book TV last Sunday which I had glanced at and went on to something else. After watching it at the C-SPAN site I found an article that listed her ten points. She has a mind like a steel trap. I’m very impressed.

    Here is a summary and a narrative memory aid I put together…

    1. Invoke a terrifying internal and external enemy
    2. Create a gulag
    3. Develop a thug caste
    4. Set up an internal surveillance system
    5. Harass citizens’ groups
    6. Engage in arbitrary detention and release
    7. Target key individuals
    8. Control the press
    9. Dissent equals treason
    10. Suspend the rule of law

    Here is the narrative memory aid:

    Internal and external enemy threats mandate the creation of a Gulag, supported by thugs and surveillance. By harassing groups and individuals, using arbitrary detention and release, and targeting key people, the press (and the readeing population) can be controlled and manipulated. Dissent becomes treason and the rule of law is suspended.

  6. Thanks for your summary Stefan.

    I cannot ‘see’ or ‘hear’ videos/audios from the computer I’m on most of the day, and when I get to a system where I can see/hear video/audio I’m not usually tuned into the hub blogs.

    Hope your pain subsides quickly AB.

  7. Thanks, Lisa. Can you tell me the topic/theme, please? So I can have a better basis from which to guess which blog entries I should be paying attention to. Because, see, the thing about not being able to understand the spoken content of the video is that I lose, not just what the speaker SAYS, but what she is talking ABOUT as well. She could be talking about Martian immigrants on Venus, or about purple spiders in the Saharan desert, for all I can tell. Given that Amanda was so anxious to share it, despite the pain of her pulled tooth–which I hope gets better soon–I don’t imagine it’s either of those topics. But you get the idea.

    Thanks.

  8. Second tooth extraction, but fourth tooth, this year, technically. The first three were my wisdom teeth. This one was a molar that had gone nasty (and, yes, I brush and floss and all that, my teeth just hate me lately). Laura was showing me this video to distract me and I asked her to post it to my blog.

  9. Stefan:

    One of the most disturbing things I’ve read about the war (don’t remember the source) is

    The purpose of this war is to tranfer a large sum of money from the public to a small handful of individuals via private corporations.

    EEEEEEK. That is one net effect though; taxpayer money goes in, and comes out in the form of defense contracts which go overwhelmingly to a few very large, very well-connected corporations. The money then goes overwhelmingly to a few very rich, very well-connected executives and shareholders.

  10. Had my wisdom teeth out (all four at once) when I was on vacation from college ages ago. That evening and all of the following day, the only thing I was good for was watching videos, basically. I couldn’t even focus enough to READ. Which for me is really amazing. If I were autistic, then loss of ability to focus for reading would probably be a signal that I was on the verge of melt down or shut down or something, it’s that basic to me.

    So, yah, sympathy vibes coming from my direction too.

  11. I apparently don’t have wisdom teeth: as in, I never grew them. The dentist told me that very matter-of-factly; i didn’t think to ask at the time how common or rare that is, or if it was something to worry about. Mind you, it did set up an association in my head between “wisdom teeth” and the NT-type social skills that the concept of “wisdom” is too often identified with (kind of brought back memories of when “immature” was my parents’ favourite judgemental word for me)…

    However, i did have some fairly major dental work done over the summer (2 root canals and crowns, and a couple of fillings), which was done without anaesthetic (because the idea of anaesthetic scared me more than the pain), so much sympathy to you…

    1. Invoke a terrifying internal and external enemy
    2. Create a gulag
    3. Develop a thug caste
    4. Set up an internal surveillance system
    5. Harass citizens’ groups
    6. Engage in arbitrary detention and release
    7. Target key individuals
    8. Control the press
    9. Dissent equals treason
    10. Suspend the rule of law

    I can’t help noticing the similarities with the “cure autism” movement and institutions…

  12. tooth extractions=Y U C K !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    We’ve had that done 7, count them 7, times. The last one was by far the worst……………..

    I only have my upper 2 wisdom teeth, apparently. And they haven’t “descended” yet……….they are still just buds not even grown out yet.

    Best Wishes on Recovery. I wanted to watch the video right at this time but it’s too late……….its too long………….

    Dennis is up to mischief again…………..

    Ivan

  13. Someone told me via email that most of the content of this video is also in an article here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/usa/story/0,,2064157,00.html … if you click on “print view” then you can see the whole article on one page without the ad interruptions. For anyone else who can’t view the video for whatever reason.

    More best wishes to Amanda for your recovery.

  14. I happened to pick up author’s book just yesterday. Haven’t read but a dozen pages yet, but it’s straightforward and very well documented. Everything is footnoted and the comparisons are direct. …And that’s the most unsettling thing about it — most of the comparisons don’t require stretching. Use of the word “homeland” I recognized from history, but the embedding of journalists, unloading coffins of war dead at night, declaring that the Hague Conventions don’t apply to enemies — I didn’t know the Nazi’s had pioneered those techniques.

    They even had a phrase “kriegsfutz,” to give a name to the state of being at war without legally being at war. Cheney used the phrase “war footing” last year, which is an exact translation of that word. (Just one example, there — the book isn’t based on just a few things like this, but many, many.)

    I must admit to being ‘game’ for a good conspiracy theory, but unlike most C.S.’s this stuff gets *clearer* with increasing inspection of the data. Perilous times.

    To anyone who’s been having bad feelings about the United States heading in a fascistic direction, this seems a good book (for as much as I’ve read of it, so far). It’s confirming a lot of bad gut feelings for me.

    It seems strange to think of maybe really witnessing a major historic event first-hand, but then most people in the past who did probably didn’t think they would, either, I guess.

    OK, enough blathering.


    P.S. I have no association with the author or publisher, etc.

  15. Rachel Hibberd:

    The purpose of this war is to tranfer a large sum of money from the public to a small handful of individuals via private corporations.

    Naomi Klein (as opposed to Naomi Wolf), has a book out called “The Shock Doctrine: The Rise of Disaster Capitalism” about that and more. There are interviews on YouTube and a couple on Huffington Post. (If you haven’t already heard of all this, anyway.)

    Radical privatization. “Free market” heaven; human rights hell. May Milton Friedman rot in Hell.

  16. I tend to avoid the Huffington Post because they’ve jumped on the autism-mercury hysteria, endorsed by the founder. Is there anywhere else the interviews are printed? (I just prefer to kind of… boycott on principle.)

  17. Stephan: Thanks for the link. I must admit to having a hard time getting a clear picture of Friedman’s views. IMO, a lot of that has to do with how involved in politics his ideas have become, with the resulting spin & propaganda creating a nearly impenetrable fog. So much written about him seems either “hero” or “devil.” Still, I have my opinion of what he’s wrought, and it’s negative.

    Not to hijack Ballastexinstenz’s blog much more with this, but here’s a piece with a rare attempt at a balanced view:
    http://www.knowprose.com/node/16855

    Con, but detailed w/references:
    http://www.huppi.com/kangaroo/L-chichile.htm

    Con, short, but w/interesting counter-comments:
    http://www.gregpalast.com/tinker-bell-pinochet-and-the-fairy-tale-miracle-of-chile-2/

  18. Thanks Amanda, I am distributing the link – she makes a rock solid case, quite a lot of which applies here in the UK too. We must remember the last minutes and the fact that we can still fight back, we still stand a chance. Given the power of the USA worldwide, this fight matters to everyone in the world…
    hope the tooth pain has subsided by now

  19. Riel^Amorpha,

    I tend to avoid the Huffington Post because they’ve jumped on the autism-mercury hysteria, endorsed by the founder.

    I had no idea. I apologize for linking there.

    Andrea,

    I’m sorry I missed your post earlier. Thankfully, andreashettle and Makoto have both posted good text links.

    Also, I apologize for posting such vague statements and a not specific link in the first place. I should have paid more attention to what I was posting.

  20. Hit send too soon:

    Andrea,

    Also, to answer your question (even as late as I am), the video’s topic is the End of America, or the Rise of Fascism in America. Naomi Wolf describes the ten steps that lead to a society closing down and becoming a fascist society.

    The reason I posted a link to her blog rather than to specific entries was that all but one of the entries deals with this. Unfortunately, I didn’t consider that I should have been specific, something I try to do no matter where I post.

    Further, I didn’t read the new posts carefully enough when I came back to post about the possibility of Blackwater getting sent to San Diego, because I was in a hurry and focused on discussion elsewhere, thus missing your question when I posted previously.

  21. More on “differently-abled. Not only are the people who meet him intreiged, they see him as a person first. They become instantly aware of his strengths and talents – what’s right, not so much what’s wrong. As a culture of autism and a greater culture of differently abled persons, regardless of label, HOW do we change people’s minds about the notion that different is not inherently bad, but just different? I don’t want the culture of autism disabled or devalued, either. My son has taught us, everyone who knows him, works with, plays with, lives with him, the most important things in life. It’s his gift to us. Is it possible that the whole of humanity needs to learn this lesson? answr: now more than ever….

  22. Ha, of course. Just because all the parallels she describes exist, because people are being put on the watch and no-fly lists for arbitrary reasons, are blocked from leaving the country. Because there is a secret prison where they torture prisoners with no due process, because constitutional protections have been whittled away during Bush’s presidency, she’s a “tin hat wearing moonbat.”

    Because everything she’s said is happening is true, she’s a moonbat.

  23. Big White Hat?

    meaning what? insane? if so, there are many more much worse, in all the wrong places, if you know what I mean……….or did you just type that for the purpose of rhyming?

    I hope for the latter……..

    Ivan

  24. Hey, just popping by to see if you were OK, as you haven’t posted anything in a couple of weeks…

    Hope you haven’t stopped blogging (although i see you have posted comments on a couple of other blogs i read) – unless you have decided November is National Not Blog Posting Month for you ;)

    Anyway, hope you’re OK however long you’ve taken a break for…

  25. Neo-fascism is on the rise in the US and in countries closely associated by other (governmental and corporate, maybe even religios) ties, and autistics are one of its targets. Thank you for opening my eyes to how real this has become.

Leave a Reply

