The requested cat/theremin video

Standard

Since someone requested it:

I tried to caption it, but I’m not sure how much information I managed to convey.

Since various people have been asking, what’s been going on is:

1. Visitor was here for 8 days, nearly all waking hours spent with her
2. Too many physical therapy appointments (and plenty of associated pain afterwards as far as I can tell)
3. Too many urgent-care appointments, both for me and a neighbor (for different reasons)
4. Too many meetings
5. Still trying to work on the cat video
6. Trying to plug very slowly through at least a bare minimum of online obligations as well as anything random I come across online
7. Offline volunteer work
8. Recovering from #1-7

This hasn’t left a lot of time for blogging, answering emails, etc, although I’ve been doing some of these things erratically. I lost my wireless card so any emails to my MIT account probably aren’t getting through either. If anyone’s sent anything to that account that’s urgent, please send it to my regular email account and I’ll attempt to get to it (anyone who has the MIT address also has the other as far as I know).

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

16 responses »

  1. Wow, though she’s obviously perplexed/turbed by the sound, she’s doing quite a good job of keeping her cool about it. I expected her to go *boing* into the air. ;)

    Hope you’re feeling better.

  2. Your cat’s lovely :D. She (?) looks very much like my cat, except my cat has more white on her face.
    I’m not surprised you haven’t had time to blog with all that stuff going on. Hope you can rest a bit more now.

  3. Is that a speaker in the background? It seems Fey
    is looking at the black thing in the background
    and then at the theremin in the foreground and trying to make sense of how her body is causing sound as she approached the theremin but the sound
    seems to be coming from the background….It would
    be interesting to see her response if the sound were emanating from the theramin itself and cause and effect were more closely linked….

  4. Aww feed-back…I forgot about that! It is good to see you back…That is one jam packed schedule you’ve had…Hope everything settles down for you
    and you feel better…

  5. Ah, I’d figured you were really busy or something.

    I only found out theremins existed last year; a friend of mine got one and showed me part of a demo video of a very well-practiced theremin-player. It was pretty impressive. There’s something about the sound that reminds me of when people run their fingers around the tops of crystal drinking glasses. It’s eerie and pretty at the same time.

    And in your cat definitely looks curious, but not incredibly wigged out by the sounds.

  6. I finally got a volume pedal for this thing, which means I have been able to start trying to play it. I can now do recognizable melodies, but it’s pretty tiring. (Or maybe it’s the neck problems and general exhaustion lately making it tiring, not sure.) And nothing particularly elegant yet (I’ve seen, and am in awe of, some of those videos of professional thereminists). I do like that it gives me pretty immediate feedback as to whether I’ve screwed up or not. But unlike most other instruments, having a cat jump onto me while I’m playing is completely disruptive with this one.

  7. I tried to learn harmonica. I had a cat (now sadly no longer with me) who would howl and try to rip it from my hands every time I tried to play.

    Damn music critics. :)

  8. Fey does that when I try to play pennywhistle. And she doesn’t seem to like any music (even stuff played on my stereo, so it can’t just be my playing she’s objecting to :-P ), although she’s been surprisingly tolerant of the theremin (come to think it, she also surprised me by never using my harp as a scratching post).

  9. awww sweet kitty. i wonder what a dog would do in response. i have missed your posts and wondered where you have been. you sound very busy! i hope you find time to write more soon.

  10. My dog hasn’t shown much interest in the theremin.

    I’m still trying to get the longer cat video done. Not sure why it’s taking forever at this point.

    I just met a staff person’s new puppy, who might end up in a video one of these days herself if she ever meets my dog.

Leave a Reply

