Happy Father’s Day

Standard

This video is for my dad, with a song that gave us hope in a lot of hard and scary times.

(The only reason I didn’t do something similar on mother’s day is because I hadn’t come up with the idea yet, or I’d have two of these by now.)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

13 responses »

  1. “Your shiniest day might come in the middle of the night.”

    Well my father’s day began at 3:30 AM and I was treated to a beautiful sunrise not much after that. Something I haven’t witnessed in many years. I wasn’t happy to be up at that hour but you never know where or when the shiny moments will appear.

    Happy Father’s Day Amanda’s Dad.

  2. I have recently started reading this blog and I have to say that you have changed many of my ill-informed notions about autism. One of the stereotypes is that people with autism have trouble expressing emotion. Yet your love for your dad absolutely shines through this video. Thank you for sharing a little bit of him, and I hope he liked it.

  3. What a wonderful video! It brought tears to my eyes, and I do not even know your dad. Amanda, you have a real gift and make great videos. Thank you for sharing. Oh, I love the song, too.

  4. BTW, the significance of the song, besides just that it’s a good song, is that my dad and I listened to it on the three-hour drives back and forth between my parents’ house and the Residential Treatment Facility From Hell I was living at (not just hell for me, but hell for my family, because they were blaming my family for me being how I was, that was what “family therapy” seemed to be for). It was a really uncertain and scary time for all of us and that song (among others) really helped.

  5. Thank you for making this wonderful Father’s Day Tribute! It truly documents a unique bond between two special people in my life….Tears streamed down our faces and a flood of memories rushed past as we watched the photos and listened to the words of the song…Your sense-of-humor and sensetivity
    are duly noted andappreciated too…Music and the ability to laugh at some of the hardest of times and at some of the direst of situations really helped get us all get through some harrowing times….Hugs…firm ones…Mom

Leave a Reply

