Cute Kid Video

Standard

This is a very cute kid spinning things (her mother says on the video description “don’t mind mommy’s potty mouth”):

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

9 responses »

  1. Awww :D. Ds1 used to move away and want to be on his own when his baby brother came near him as well. Now he loves to grab Ds2’s feet and arms and wave them around and kiss him with his forehead :D.
    The spinny toys looked fun, I kept thinking of the Weebles, even though they don’t look the same.

  2. What a cutie! Joey always loved spinning and flicking, even when he was a teeny tiny. We had one of those spiiner things that’s supposed to stick on the high chair tray with a suction cup to distract the kid while mom figured out the feeding, and he would play with that thing for HOURS if I let him.

  3. Yeah I can Larry and I bet you hated it same as I did. :-P

    (Actually people still sometimes say it, then I have to figure out whether there’s any objects safe to thwap them with.)

  4. Amanda: This has nothing to do with the video, but I just came across this link to an article written by Dr. Dick Sobsey on why parents of children with developmental disabilities should not blame lack of services when a parent murders a child with developmental disabilities:

    http://www.notdeadyet.org/docs/articles/sobsey0301.html

    I thought of you when I saw this because it made me think of some of your earlier posts about parents that exploit murders of autistic children as an argument for why families need better services. This article looks like it might be a good one to recommend to parents who become upset when autistic adults criticize them for using that argument. Sobsey brings up some of the same points that you (and others) have raised before, but some parents (for better or for worse) might find it a little easier to swallow coming from a professional (and I think a fellow parent?).

Leave a Reply

