“Gertrude Stein with autism???????”

Standard

The title of this post was the response an online friend gave when I first posted this privately (in 2005):

Cable. Cable cable cord cord cable cord cable cord. Hand cord round. Round cord. Round cord. Cord round cord round cord. Cord round cord round cord round cord round cord round. Circle. Circle circle circle. Circle. Cord round circle cord circle cord circle cord. Cord circle. Round cord. Round circle. Circle round circle round circle round. Circle round circle round circle round circle round. Smooth tap cord. Tap smooth cord. Cord tap smooth. Cord tap smooth tap cord tap smooth tap smooth tap smooth tap smooth tap smooth tap smooth tap smooth tap. Cord round cord tap smooth cord cord cord cord.

Hands hands hands hands hands hands hands. Hands cord smooth tap hands cord smooth tap hands cord smooth tap. Tap smooth hand cord. Hand cord smooth tap. Hand cord smooth tap. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand. Hand.

Civet. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Green. Rectangle rect rect rect rect rect rect rect rect angle angle angle angle angle angle angle angle angle. Angle tangle angle tangle angle tangle angle tangle. Rect. Wall. Wall wall wall wall angle rect wall angle rect wall rect wall angle. Rect wall angle door. Door door door door brown door brown door brown door brown door brown door brown door brown door. Wood brown wood brown wood wood wood wood wood brown wood brown wood wood wood wood wood brown wood brown wood wood wood wood brown door wood door wood door wood door wood door.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

11 responses »

  1. Gosh, just this morning I was thinking of another line from Gertrude: “There is no there there”. She was refering to Oakland, CA. It got me to going “There is no *there* there, there is no there *there*….. there, there, everything’s going to be OK…. etc. :) I once did a fun and weird term paper combining Gertrude Stein, cubism, and something else, I forget what. That was 25 years ago already…

    Here are some quotes from Stein. I found them on quotationspage.com. Hmmmm…

    “Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.”

    “It takes a lot of time to be a genius, you have to sit around so much doing nothing, really doing nothing.”

    “Everybody knows if you are too careful you are so occupied in being careful that you are sure to stumble over something.”
    (That’s a good one for me!)

    “I really do not know that anything has ever been more exciting than diagramming sentences.”

  2. The most famous thing Gertrude Stein did that your writing there resembles is “Tender Buttons”. Here is a link to where you can find it on the internet: http://www.gutenberg.org/files/15396/15396-h/15396-h.htm

    Don’t think you have any obligation to read it. I know you’re busy, and don’t want this mistaken for something else you have to do. If you want to read it, and find a good time, there it is.

  3. Jason GoldenFleece OtherWorld Good Good. Jason GoldenFleece OtherWorld Good Good. Jason GoldenFleece OtherWorld Good Good
    Good Good Good Good Good Good Good.

  4. diddlyidledoodle idle diddlyidle deedledum
    diddlyidledoodly didle diddly idle day.

    dum dee doodle idle dum diddly doodle idle
    dum dee doodle idle diddly idle doodle dum

    dum dee doodle idle dum diddly doodle idle
    dum dee doodle idle diddly idle doodle dum

    dum diddly dum dum, dum diddly doodle idle,
    dum diddly dum dum, ditheri idle deedle idle

    dum diddly dum dum, dum diddley doodle idle
    diddlyidledeedle idle diddly idle deedle dum the day.

    It’s an Irish reel known as the morning dew.

    Now the Scots have puirt a beal and that is a whole new ball game :)

  5. It reminded me more of her children’s book “The World is Round”, but probably because 1) I’ve read that fairly recently (to my children, who were surprisingly interested and chose it for bedtime night after night until finished) and 2) for the entirely superficial reason that the first part used the word “round” a lot.

    Sherri

  6. boom boom boom boom boom boom bomb boom boom boom bomb bomb ka boom ka boom boom boom bomb bomb bum bomb boom bomb bum which I am sitting on when I should be (boom boom boom boom) studying calculus.

    That’s what was going in my mind as I read this. No joke. I don’t know much at all about Gertrude Stein……..

    Ivan

  7. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about Gertrude Stein and autism. Even if she wasn’t autism (and maybe she was), could her writing still be autistic.

    Valerie Paradiz talks about her in Elijah’s Cup, a book I really recommend.

    A rose is a rose is a rose.

Leave a Reply

