Disability Blog Carnival #13 coming up: What Box?

Standard

Disability blog carnival #13 is coming up, and I’m going to be hosting it.

Could someone who runs the carnival thing tell me what the submission deadline is supposed to be? I don’t know it. All I know is that I’ll be posting stuff on April 26, 2007. (USA, eastern time anyway.) And I know that I’ve already gotten a few submissions before I’ve had a chance to post about it or set a topic.

Anyway, given a lot of conversations I’ve been having lately, the theme is going to be “What box?” As in, there’s boxes we’re expected to fit into and conform to as disabled people. You could write about the box, you could write about not knowing there was a box, you could write about what happens when you step outside the box (if anyone even notices), just in general the theme is anything having to do with the box (the limited amount of stereotyped traits and experiences we’re “supposed to” have in a lot of people’s eyes) in its varying manifestations (including some that are impairment-specific, and some that are more general).

You can submit stuff using this form.

And don’t forget to submit other people’s posts because they might not submit them themselves. (I often forget to submit my own.) And if the person who runs this could email me with more information on how to do this I’d be really happy.

Edit:

1. The submission deadline is Monday, April 23, although if you email me with stuff after that I can try to get it in (no guarantees).

2. I’m having my wisdom teeth out on Wednesday the 18th, and I’m having a nasty sort of feedback-loop of pain between this tooth and my migraines, so I’m not giving a whole lot of guarantees about the rest of it being on time either, but it will get up one way or the other.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

6 responses »

  1. From my son’s experience hosting once – The submission on the carnival website will send submissions to you up until the Monday (midnight) before your Thursday carnival. After midnight, the submissions get sent on to the next host.
    Interesting carnival topic. I look forward to it.

  2. The deadline can be whatever you need it to be, but it has typically been the Monday before, as Janet says, and the submission forms are forwarded accordingly. Penny, who created the carnival, forwarded me any submissions that she received when I did it, and the submission form on the carnival site sends the others to you. It’s especially helpful if everyone who submits with the form uses the blank space provided to summarize what their post is about. That helps with categorizing and organizing the complete carnival post itself.

    I also got a couple submissions from medical types that clearly didn’t fit the disability blog agenda — one was about curing constipation or something. Feel free to edit your collection in any way you need to keep your goals for the carnival on track. I sure did.

    If you have any further questions that Penny or the carnival site don’t answer about how to get it done, email me. I’m excited to see the next edition!

  3. Janet and Kay are right–the default deadline is the Monday evening before the Thursday posting date. If you want it to be a different time, earlier or later, just let me know, I can set it as you request. Also email any other specific questions, and I’ll try to answer promptly. Kay’s given you some good advice already.

    Hmmmm, the Box. Cool topic. I look forward to seeing the next carnival edition!

  4. *rubs head* I missed most of the Disability Blog Carnivals. I didn’t know they were up to #13. Boxes is stuff we could write tons and tons about, but… then sometiems we wonder if our talk about boxes would match others’ ideas of what talk-about-boxes should be. When I poked around in the mental stew a bit, first thing that popped up was the assumption that just because we had, or have in the past, fit certain labels or qualified for certain boxes that the psychiatric community considers disabilities and disorders, that means we necessarily also view these things as disabilities. (Given that the disability community in general sometimes seems to view either being a “retard” or a “schizophrenic” as being at the bottom of the shit pit, in terms of “gee I’m glad I’m not them.” The whole “my body is disabled but my mind is intact” thing and so forth.)

  5. Regarding that, it’s been hard trying to figure out exactly how to emphasize that while (a) certain things that have been said about me in the past (and that I have said and done in the past) were false, that doesn’t mean that (b) I look down on the person I would have been if they were true. Because, as has been pointed out to me, my attempts to describe what actually happened can appear exactly like distancing myself from certain kinds of people (especially when I can’t write every angle at once).

    But at any rate I certainly doubt I’ll mind anything you submit on that topic, whether I agree or not. So far the submissions I have got have been interesting and taking the idea from several different angles entirely.

    And apologies in advance for any absence from comment-approval or replying or anything: I am going to try to mostly avoid the computer today if I can, because the tooth stuff has been triggering killer migraines which are reaching levels I’m scared of, and I’m rarely scared of pain by this point.

Leave a Reply

