Dog video

Standard

I took some video of the dogs today (sorry for the tiny captioning, I’m still trying to get the hang of matching the video size and the caption size):

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

18 responses »

  1. So cute!!! I love a play bow. I feel so bad for BJ at the end. My dog doesn’t know how to play with other dogs, she’s just afraid of them.

  2. It is fun to see two dogs actually making nice with each other. My little Westie, Cala, was at the dog sitter for four days while I had to travel. When I got home today, I received a bad report on Cala’s behavior towards one of the other dogs. Cala didn’t want to be nice and was too agressive. With Cala, you never know if she will want to be friends with other dogs or not. When we walk her, other dog owners want their dogs to “meet” Cala, and they do not listen when we tell them Cala might not be so nice to their dog. I wish I knew how she decides who to lunge at and who to accept.

  3. The caption size wasn’t much of a problem in my case (but then I guess I have fairly good eyes). Though the captions did flicker in and out a couple of times — disappeared too fast for me to read them.

    Thanks for including captions for the dog noises too. As a deaf person, I like knowing the total auditory content beyond the words that are actually spoken (or speech synthesized, as the case might be). I assume that was Jen speaking for the whole thing? Or was some of that you? I couldn’t tell.

  4. Awwwwwgh, I miss my Kazak, my moof-sayer, my 110-pound snugglebear, may he rest in peace! : (

    And I miss dogs, period. Moving in a couple months. Gonna find us a moof-sayer and adopt ‘im real good.

  5. kinda envy those of you who are so comfortable with dogs. i don’t pretend to understand cats the way some (most?) other autistics do, but i sure get where they are coming from on uneasiness with dogs.

  6. Bonjour Amanda!
    Je suis désolée je ne parle anglais mais j’arrive à comprendre un peu tes articles qui sont très intéréssants!!!!
    Je reviendrai te voir de temps en temps….
    Ma soeur est autiste mais ne s’exprime qu’avec des dessins..
    Bises
    Val (de France)

  7. n.

    BIG dogs still scare me, even after getting to know Rose. Dogs of any size that bark a lot still tend to intimidate me, unless I know them well enough to know what barking actually means for that individual dog and how that dog actually behaves.

    I never had a dog or a cat when I was growing up, but my grandmother had a dog who I would see maybe about twice a year, so I suppose that gave me a chance to get used to dogs at an early age. Plus, meeting occasional dogs in the neighborhood.

  8. translation of #8 in case you need it..

    Hello Amanda

    I am sorry that I do not speak English but I understand a little bit, your articles, which are very interesting.

    I will come back and see you from time to time

    My sister is autistic but does not express (herself) except with drawings.

    Kisses

    Val (from france)

    keep if you need, you can delete if you don’t

    sorry I’ve missed you for so many SL meetings, so much to do all the time here….

    later
    Ivan

  9. Very cute!

    The big dog is BIG- I think he would make my Mal (Malcolm the Smooth Collie, my service dog in training, otherwise known as Captain McPokeynose and Destroyer Of Guppies) look small, and Mal is quite a substantial dog!

  10. cute dog.

    Amanda, I am working on a film in LA and the director is interested in talking to you about a part in the movie. What is the best way to get a hold of you?

    -ian

  11. Ian, I’m not an actress and have physical things preventing me from most sorts of long-term work.

    I’m not just autistic, I also have constant migraines, movement difficulties, and stamina issues (which may be related to the movement difficulties, and are sometimes also related to asthma), all of which become more prominent the more overloaded I get. It’s likely that spending a lot of time on a film set would throw the migraines into the realm of vomiting and the movement issues into the realm of freezing, both of which would preclude acting. Things as temporary as CNN interviews and speaking at short conferences have been known to induce one or both of those things, as well as weeks of exhaustion and varying degrees of incomprehension. Pretty much anything I do has to cooperate with my body’s unpredictable schedule, and my body is so far unwilling to cooperate with any schedule I personally set for it, let alone an outside person like a film director.

    If I could do things like that on a long-term basis, I’d have a job. Prior to the onset of (or in some cases the increase of) various physical things, I did have a job which I enjoyed. The only way I ever get away with long-term projects (including my videos) is if they can be done at home or relatively close to home, and on a totally erratic schedule that doesn’t tend to obey my wishes or anyone else’s. I’ve learned not to commit to things I know I won’t be able to follow through on.

  12. I had my hands on the camera and therefore not on a keyboard.

    You would think I would know better, as someone who often uses my hands to communicate too — I guess I didn’t think that one through before I asked! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

