If anyone finds a lost Dalek…

Standard

…anywhere in or near the Autism Museum on Second Life, could you please let us (Alfhild Briers, Muskie Marquette, etc) know?

It’s making quite a loud racket with its “Let no opposition halt you” and so forth, and confusing new visitors to the museum… but we can’t find the darn thing.

Daleks look roughly like the ones in the picture on this post of elmindreda’s, but can take a few different forms as well.

(Edit: Never mind, we found it. Blech. It has been destroyed. Click here for a dead dalek picture. And for more amusement, Dalek rides.)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

18 responses »

  1. The Daleks are very interesting as they span the entire of the Dr Who lifespan and reveal his changing attitudes towards them and thus, perhaps, his changing perceptions and characteristics in general. In “Genesis of the Daleks” the fourth Doctor refuses the opportunity to kill the very first Dalek, asking himself “do I have the right?” The 10th Doctor, having seen the Timelords wiped out by the Daleks (who were also believed, erroneously as it happens, to have been wiped out) is a lot less willing to refuse to play God. In one episode he states:

    “I’m gonna rescue her. I’m gonna save Rose Tyler from the middle of the Dalek Fleet. Then I’m gonna save the Earth. And then, just to finish off, I’m gonna wipe every single stinking Dalek out of the sky!

    Dalek: The Doctor is initiating hostile action.
    Dalek: The stratagem must advance. Begin the invasion of Earth.
    Dalek: The Doctor will be exterminated.
    [the camera cuts back to reveal thousands of Daleks]
    Daleks: Exterminate. Exterminate!
    [shouts]
    Daleks: Exterminate! Exterminate! Exterminate!”

    Later episodes also brought in some humour with the Daleks. For example, one of the more recent ones sees a battle between the Cybermen and the Daleks. When the two groups first meet, there is an exchange of barely disguised hostilities before outright war commences:

    Cyberman: ” Our technology is compatiable; although your design is less elegant.
    Dalek: Daleks have no concept of elegance!
    Cyberman: This is obvious.”

    Whilst the 11th Doctor appeared to have ensured the Dalek’s end by moving them to a gap between parallel universes, the writers are all too aware of the enduring popularity of the Daleks and ensured that the leader of them, at least, escaped his fate.

  2. At my stage in life there is a definate time lag between signing up to the latest trends in cyberspace, indeed I may have been one of the earliest people to start using a PC but I did not even join the internet until the end of 1996 because it was relatively costly to go online and I was nervous of the downside of the internet. (which wasn’t even half as scary as it is now)

    The only reason I have recently surfaced on youtube is because I have been able to purchase a portable harddisc to transfer my video files from my desktop to my laptop which is powerful enough to rapidly edit them into divX format for upload (rendering was oh so slow on my 500mhz desktop)

    I guess it will be some time before I catch up with second life, indeed I may never do as it does not currently have any appeal to me other than a vague curiosity to see what others are talking about.

    Interestingly enough, the Dalek is an iconic representation from my times and my past, who was alive to watch the Dr Who when it first came out.

  3. Aaarggh, you’re right Elmindreda. I was thinking of Paul McGann as the 9th doctor, but of course he’s the 8th.
    Ok then, it’s the 9th doctor (aka Christopher Eccleston) who says he’s going to wipe out the daleks and the 10th Doctor (aka David Tennant who sent them to the gap between the universes.
    They can’t compare to Tom Baker’s Doctor though. It’s just the little details that make him, like the jelly babies :D.

  4. i loved TomBaker’s Doctor best, too. Although i think i liked the one with the Question umbrella second best…

    another reinactment of the Dalek Jousting was made last night, and great fun was had by all… well, maybe not the Daleks, as they all ended up exploded by the end.

    someone (Fledchen?) said she was thinking to write an essay about Daleks and Cybermen as a metaphor for disability in society, or something. i want to read that!

  5. I take it you mean the way that the Daleks believe that anybody who isn’t like them must be wiped out and the way the Cybermen that anybody who isn’t like THEM must be altered so that they become like Cybermen? There’s definite comparisons that can be drawn between the Dalek and Cybermen treatment of other beings and a lot of people’s treatment of disabled people.

  6. Yep Tom Baker is my favourite Doctor, I suppose that goes with my age to.

    I think the Daleks are such an archetypal creation one can have much fun with them, though I cannot find that cartoon where the postmodernist Dalek threatens to deconstruct everybody.

  7. i think i may be 20 years younger than you, Larry, but I saw Tom Baker’s episodes in USA in the late 80’s. he always reminded me of Bob Dylan (is that really weird?)…
    but then, I also thought the TARDIS was red. (we had b/w TV and i didn’t yet know that the police call boxes were a different color from the regular kind).

  8. I really have been missing out. Dalek’s exterminate bit is so classic. I have a variety of doctors that I like. One of them I made into an icon. Tom Baker is among them though and my most “familiar” doctor.

  9. You should have called me !

    I was most disappointed I was not included in the SIMS, even as an extra. All you got was a robotic’ maid.

    Must get my master to create a Second Life version of me with my new upgrades so I can get rid of the odd ‘dinosaur’ that frequent the area.

    Signed K9 with attitude

Leave a Reply

