Favorite Post of Every Month

Standard

I like this idea a lot better than the idea of the first line of the first post of every month or something (like I did in my last post). So, instead, if anyone wants to post links to their favorite blog post they made every month (I suppose this mainly applies to people who blog more than once a month), that sounds like a much more interesting thing for a blog’s readers (and much more interesting to go back and do). Some of these were fairly close, and they’re favorites for different reasons than each other.

January: It’s What They Train Us Into, Not Just How They Train Us

February: On Fitting In

March: Many Ways to Do the Right Thing

April: Exploiting Our Stories. Destroying Our Sense of Privacy.

May: The Staggering Costs of the Chair- and Dark-Impaired

June: Just Look At Them and You’ll Understand

July: Anything or Nothing

August: Myth-Debunking, and an Additional Myth

September: Life’s Infinite Richness

October: Hey, Watch It, That’s Attached!

November: Either What People Are “Supposed To” Be Doing or Autistic and Non-Autistic Views of “Purposeless” Behavior

December: Self-Defense, Not Ego Trips

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

8 responses »

  1. I am not autistic, but I am interested in autism. I find many conflicting opinions in print and on the internet. To be honest, I find all of the information and different perspectives to be overwhelming.

    I wanted to let you know that I have learned so much from you. I have only been following your blog for a short while- a few months- but your entries constantly provoke me into thinking about things and challenging assumptions that I otherwise wouldn’t. Thank you.

  2. Whenever people tell me that I can’t be on the autistic spectrum because of the fact I can type (these are just people on the internet who don’t hear me talk) I tell me to go and look at this blog so their assumptions can be re-considered. It’s proving invaluable to myself as well, I can’t identify with everything but there is a fair amount that I can identify with and it’s helping me understand a lot about myself and, hopefully, a lot about my older son as well.

  3. Personally, I found it (“hatingautism”) rather dull. I much prefer this (“ballastexistenz”) blog, because it’s so diverse and has lots of interesting articles.

  4. Wil Wheaton did something similar to this. I think you and he had the right idea! This is a much nicer meme than the “first sentence of the first post of the month” thing.

    (I’ve seen entirely too many of the lamer meme, and you and he are the only ones I’ve seen do a “best post” thing, which is more useful. The lame meme is at best entertaining, and so many of the ones I’ve seen were not even that.)

  5. John Best’s subtle diversionary tactic to direct traffic away from this autism-friendly website into his own cesspool of hatred and anti-neurodiversity propaganda disgusts me.

  6. Hmmm, I’m not so sure about John Best. He seems to be trying just a little bit too hard to convince people of his convictions. He’s coming across as being like a child demanding attention. He wants people who are against a cure for autism to go to his site and feel enraged. So he puts out this impression of being very fixated and obsessive about curing autism, unable to see other people’s points of view and well, he’s trying just a little too hard.
    Which makes me realise that this site (“hating autism”) is just an act. A very good example of reverse psychology. We’re supposed to read it thinking “so this is the sort of hate filled person that wants to see autism cured, that’s it, my resolve has been strengthened, I am more than ever determined to be happy with who I am”.
    Very subtle and very clever.

Leave a Reply

