Tuesday night discussions on Second Life

Standard

Every Tuesday night, the Autistic Liberation Front group on Second Life holds discussions, at 8:30 PM Eastern time (5:30 PM Second Life time). Discussions are open to autistic people (diagnosed or not), other neuro-atypical people, and allies.

The current discussion topic, long-overdue, is “Conflict and Controversy in the Autistic Community: Finding Common Grounds”.

The discussion is held in the Tesla Room, coordinates are Porcupine (80,206,107). You can usually IM Muskie Marquette, Natasha Shatzkin, or me (Alfhild Briers) for a teleport, provided we’re online at the time. (Edit: Muskie might not be there, she didn’t sleep last night. The meeting will still happen.)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

6 responses »

  1. There are a couple things.

    Muskie showed me an alpha client that’s totally text-based and probably doesn’t require all the graphics cards and stuff. I’ll have to ask her where to find it. It makes things look like an IRC window a little bit.

    And she’s also trying to set up some sort of device that would pipe discussions into a realtime chat page elsewhere (I got the impression of web, or IRC, but I’m not sure), and would allow participation by people who were on the web or something and not logged into SL. I don’t know when that will be set up but I’m sure we’ll announce it when it is.

  2. In reply to post #2:
    Thanks! Please do let me know when anything like that is available. My computer is really old and strange in that some sites with some kind of animation it won’t even let me visit (internet explorer just closes automatically.) I can’t figure it out, even several Computer People say just get a new one (which I can’t afford.)
    Tht would be really great if you could somehow do it too as a text only thing.
    Also how is everythinng going with autistics.org? Is there anything anyone can help out with? I’d like to help but don’t really know anyhting I could do…

Leave a Reply

