Autism Demonized

Standard

It existed before, but it’s moved to demonized.autistics.org. (If anything doesn’t work from there, try www.autistics.org/demonized/.)

It’s a group blog that currently has three authors, me included. This is the about page where you can read why it exists and what sort of thing it covers.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

8 responses »

  1. i will read more of actual text when my brain is clear, but i like the look you have chosen for the new home of the “autism demonized” blog: melancholy with nazi-flavored colors, which fits the dehumanization problem perfectly. i also like that it will have a variety of authors, which is confusing but useful.

  2. I bookmarked the site for later reading. I sent you an email via autistics.org. According to Rosie O’Donnell’s blog, she/The View is interested in doing a full one-hour show on autism. This breaks format; typically they do an hour of “hot topics” then celebrity interviews and cooking etc. Today they did a full hour on adoption, so they are going in depth with this. I wonder if it might be useful to contact Rosie at her blog (at the obvious http://www.rosie.com)to suggest relevant topics and guests. Alternatively, maybe contact the View producers directly. I thought about sending a note to her via the blog with a link to gettingthetruthout.org

    Just wondering what your thoughts are on whether this might be a true opportunity to get some truth out.

  3. Common sense and an observation of history should tell you that 1) Nothing like so-called autism existed a generation ago; 2) something like this does not just appear out of nowhere; it has been facilitated by outside factors and introduced via some sort of injection; 3) it’s about power and control. Learn from history. Everyone thought the poor souls who tried to warn others about Hitler were shouting lunatics. To those who have their heads in the sand, I say, uncover your brain and start looking around.

  4. Autism was first described as autism several generations ago, and was clearly described as other things generations before that. Given that I’ve known autistic people from generations that are mostly dead now, the things you are saying are hardly common sense.

  5. Amanda,Just wanted to say hello…I met you a couple of years ago at the Autcom Conference. I came up and spoke to you after your presentation. I was really excited when i heard you had a video on youtube. I often show it to people who don’t know anything about people that have autism.Take care.
    Felicia

Leave a Reply

