Cat update

Standard

For those who asked: The cat is doing fine. Her problem appears to have been either fleas (brought in from the dog, or humans) or allergies or both. She’s now hiding under the bed looking doped up, but hopefully will be feeling better soon. Here’s a picture of her:

sick cat hiding under the bed

To the person who paid the vet bill: Thank you. A lot. That really means a lot that I could actually get my cat checked out and treated today. I really don’t get why people claim autistic people lack compassion, after the amount of people I’ve seen willing to assist with things like vet bills in this community.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

11 responses »

  1. I hope you get the mispent $200 thing figured out. That sounded scary.

    I’m happy someone paid the vet bill, too. My dog get’s an antihistimine (she does NOT like it) once or twice a day through most the year. It’s really a pain for her, she seems to be allergic to pollens, when I’m having a bad allergy day, so is she, usually.

  2. So glad to hear that!!!

    And she looks pretty as ever, and very soft.

    I’ll also say a word of gratitude to the person who paid the vet bill; it’s so nice to know there are good folks like you out there. Counterbalances the stories of bad people I’ve read this week.

    As for autistics lacking compassion, well, sometimes I used to think I either couldn’t be autistic because I “care too much for these foolish humans” (wish I knew where that quote was from; Google gives me nothing) or that I was a lousy excuse for an autistic, because of the same thing. Of course, now I know better. :)

    And the thing is… autistic people are some of the most kind people I’ve met. Methinks the DSM-V criteria could be reworked a bit to show that – it’d help stop this foolish notion that autistic people don’t care about others.

Leave a Reply

