Predators

Standard

(This was written sometime in 2005 or 2006, in response to a commenter known to me from the past who was attempting to convince me I was dying.)

There are people who have in the past tried to prey on the autistic community. Some continue to do so.

Some by verbal attacks. Some by stalking. Some by threats of violence and terrorism. Some by trying to mess with autistic people’s minds on purpose. Some by trying to find ways to take advantage of us sexually (imagining us to be like children in that regard, and some specifically target children and teens in the autistic community).

Such people’s comments will be deleted where I find them, and so far they are the only people whose comments I have deleted. Exactly one person has emailed me asking if they were such a person, and my answer to that person is that if they have to ask, the answer is no, and I would not have even considered that person when talking about this.

But this is also a warning, that there are people like that out there — some autistic, some not, some not and claiming to be. Not many, but the few are enough. Where there are people perceived to be weak, there are people who will attempt to exploit that weakness. Such people will find that I am not the easy target that I once was, or that they imagine me to be now. Such people will not receive a platform on my blog.

Comments from when this was a page not a post:


  1. November 7, 2006 at 12:43 am

    This is not a reply as much as a request. I am 33 and have a 6 year old autistic son. I adore him for who he is, a cure would take away the wonderful things that make him amazing. What I am looking for is advise. The world is cruel to him out of ignorance. He is non-speaking but we have no trouble communicating as far as his needs and he shows me eveyday that he loves me. Please tell me in your opinion what the most important things I can do for him to make his life as happy as possible. People pity me for having an autistic child and pity him for what they think he is not or what he is missing in life. I think pity is very offensive, I fell blessed to have been given him and I feel he is very happy the way he is. But I am afraid that I do not provide something that he needs mentally because he can not tell me. I hope that I have not offended you in anyway. Your blog is an amazing insight to me. Thank you!

  2. diana carr says:

    February 26, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    i am unable to email. tried for days to find away to email, just cant. please tell me how to e mail amanda. she has gotten me to study alot on autism. i like the knowlrdge i have learned. just need to see how to email. and can’t figure how.

    diana carr

  3. Stephanie says:

    November 29, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Amanda…you have no idea how many eyes you are opening. I am a mother of 4 healthy children and know exactly how lucky I am that they are that way…but I am also so lucky to have people like you out there who are willing to go to such great lenths to show and teach other people…that everyone is unique and special. Just because we don’t all look, talk…act the same way, doesn’t mean a dang thing at all. Thank you again!

  4. Pi says:

    December 3, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Wow, I just finished reading some of your work on instutionalization. My family has been going through mental illness treatment in one form or another for six years, since I lost my father to Zoloft. My mother (who was institutionalized) tried to help us understand, but it was all confused and difficult to comprehend. Your words helped me get a better perspective on what was happening while those of us on the outside waited. I still don’t know what we could’ve done differently, as some of her behavior was very unsafe. Having just lost my father to a mental illness, the least I was willing to settle for was keeping mom safe and at least giving her time to heal. The way you described your feelings helped me to understand a bit. Thank you for sharing your insight. For what it’s worth, those of us caught trying to understand the system, unable to access records, get information, or otherwise get involved in order to protect loved ones during episodes of extreme distress are at a loss and not allowed much control either. No one asked me about what I thought might help mom, and the only source of information was drugged.


  5. December 3, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Yes, my mother said that one of the biggest problems she had when I was in the psych system was that she wasn’t educated enough or savvy enough about the system to figure out what was going on or how to genuinely help me.

    I really think there does need to be some place that people who’re experiencing severe distress or other things like that, or unable to function because of that sort of thing, can go. I’ve wanted that myself at times when I was clearly likely to harm myself in serious ways, but there were no options for me since the system would harm me in itself, maybe even kill me. The main problem is that the system is often less safe than outside the system. :-(


  6. December 4, 2007 at 3:50 am

    Yeah, and sometimes you find that while “alternative resources” (to the system) exist, they’re locally restricted and you can’t get in touch with them, for reasons of either geography or money. For instance, the Hearing Voices Project has a hotline in England, for people in a crisis because they’re hearing voices that upset them, but a friend of mine went looking for something like that the US last fall and couldn’t find it, when he was hearing a voice say things that upset him. (He eventually tried talking back to it on his own and it’s mostly gone away, but he would have appreciated some support, from people who didn’t define “support” as “stuff you full of pills.”)

  7. Ivan says:

    December 4, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Pardon my cynicism……..

    perhaps our society won’t wake up to the fact that our psych system is “botched” up……and fix it……….

    because doing so just makes too much damned sense……and therefore must be vewy vewy complicated……..

    Perhaps society thinks that every sensible alternative costs money……….someone wants to keep us dumb these days………..and those of us who don’t fall for it……..can only do so much about it……..

    Ivan


  8. August 28, 2008 at 10:54 am

    MESSAGE FROM DAVID MIEDZIANIK: i wrote my autobiography years ago: i have aspergers syndrome: i’m bob dylan’s greatest bbc radio request writer: THE CONNECTION: ST MARTIN IN THE FIELDS: LONDON: i’ve always wanted bob dylan to do that song about me his best fan:

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

Leave a Reply

