Five weird things

Standard

Five weird things about me:

1. I used to climb fences and “defend our territory” against neighbor cats by using cat postures, staring them down, and, if necessary, hissing or growling. I also used to “mark my territory” the same way cats do (indoors and out), and it always got blamed on the cats.

2. I love country music (weird for my geographic region and political persuasion anyway).

3. I can climb things easily and perch precariously without falling, but if you try to get me to walk on flat ground I get confused and may bump into things or fall unless it’s totally familiar.

4. I’m on Second Life with as close to an exact replica of my offline body as possible (this is quite definitely weird for there). (Might post more about SL sometime.)

5. I can wiggle my scalp.

(I wasn’t tagged, never have been, for anything, for whatever reason.  But this has been going around the Autism Hub for awhile now, so I’m joining in, tagged or not.)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

12 responses »

  1. i have been wanting to join 2nd life (becos i heard there was lots of fun for autistics on there) but my computer didn’t cooperate; i may try again now that it has been reformatted…

    i like country music, too. convinced my husband to take me to the johnny cash movie last year although he hates country music, and he liked it: he said “that was World Music!”. (he’s foreign)

  2. I’m glad you did the Five Weird things.

    I love country music, too–and, like you, it’s wierd for my political persuasion. (I do like the Dixie Chicks, but I liked them before Natalie Maines said what she said).

    My cousin loved cats (she still might), and used to act like a cat when she was younger. She’d purr, meow, lick her hand and wipe her face, etc. She was very good at it.

  3. Oh, and do you get to vote in elections, or does your disability get you barred? I ask this because I know a case in Britain of a man with Downs Syndrome who was turned away from the polling station because of his disability.

  4. I used to act like a cat as well. In fact, often when I was upset at school I’d start acting like a cat or dog to escape. I also followed around the cats at home, mimicking them. Never got so far as marking territory, though.
    Now I mostly just echo them. My energy has decreased a lot, so I don’t want to go crawling around.

  5. 1. I notice I have glands on my hands, near my belly button that make cat like scents and I too mark. I’ve learned to purr and meow at a young age and made friends with alley cats under the trailer skirtings.

    2. I like electroclash/what most the younger generation likes. I would like rap but I don’t like record scratch to the point it has made dislike by association. I was born inner city so it’s somewhat “environment”/”nostalgia” almost although I’m not into any lyrics. I don’t hear most lyrics anyway.

    3. I have ok balance.

    4. I did this with Sims2. I made a clone of myself, Judy and our new daughter. I’m going to possibly, if there is time today, try it out.

    5. My forehead muscles can pull my scalp down a tad. I make high pitch whistles/tones that sound like ringing in ears. It does tend to bug me and other autistics…because when I stop…the ringing continues. My hearing tests are an issue because my imagined sounds are pretty much indistinguishable from real ones at times and my short term memory often makes me forget it was I remembering the sound on purpose.

  6. Country music?

    http://www.kaseylansdale.com/index.html has a few samples of an album you probably haven’t heard.

    She’s a sweet kid. Her dad’s a writer of interesting things. (I like both him and his writing, and I love going to his readings, when he’s doing them at conventions.)

    I bought the CD from her at a science fiction convention this past weekend.

  7. I just read about a NC country singer who is by day a Forensic Investigator. Isn’t that wild? http://laurapettler.com/

    LordAlfred, when I moved from inner city Syracuse NY to small-town (practically country) SC, i couldn’t sleep at night because there was no rap music outside my windows… only this annoying silence and strange insects beeping.

  8. n. lol. Similar happened when I went from the (tame) inner city of Salt Lake (kinda like a little Los Angeles) to Tooele (boondocks)…that and I developed hay fever and some weird chemical induced headache.

  9. Hey! My Grandma could wiggle her scalp, too! She could also wiggle her ears independently. I spent a lot of time as a child attempting to replicate these skills. Never did get it.
    As for acting like a cat, well, I still growl at my dogs if they start begging at the table. Animals seem to understand the language they speak better than English.
    You would fit right in at my house, but you would be banished to my daughter’s room for the country music “thang” as it is the designated “Twang zone.” ;^)

Leave a Reply

