Forced drugging and autistic people.

Standard

I spent four or five years of my life forcibly drugged. Sure, some of it was technically voluntary. But here’s what they did if I showed signs of not wanting to take something:

  • Told my family (and me if they bothered) a very dire future that awaited me if I didn’t take their drugs. I was either going to die, or be homeless, or a revolving door mental patient, or be institutionalized forever.
  • Organized my family (after scaring them enough) to all “explain” this to me where possible, and to take things away from me if I didn’t take the drugs.
  • Stuffed drugs down my throat. Literally.
  • Locked me up, or if I was already locked up, locked me up even more.
  • Brought me as close as they could to death and told me this was what happened to people who didn’t do what they said, to get me to take something “voluntarily”, only letting up once I took it.
  • Injected drugs.
  • At one point, even told my family to threaten to throw me out on the street if I didn’t take something that was (literally) poisoning me.

So, I took things dutifully after awhile.

These days, I’m seeing that these drugs, particularly the neuroleptics, are being targeted at more and more autistic people than I ever saw on them when I was on them.

And, what prompted this post, I saw a post on a message board today saying, basically, “My parents are going to force me to take Abilify. What’s it like?”

And most of the other posts went under the assumption that the person had some “behavior” that was out of control, that the person just didn’t understand, and maybe needed to ask about, so that the person would understand why all these people were just trying to help them.

No.

I had pretty much every “behavior” that these drugs are used to target in autistic people. Doesn’t make it right to force a mind-altering chemical into my brain. Doesn’t mean that the solution was to meekly approach all the people who saw me and the way I acted in such a medicalistic light, and say, “Help, what’s wrong with me, what can you see that I don’t, in all your great medical wisdom can you explain to me why you want me on this drug? Oh, I understand now. I see. Yeah. That makes sense. You know me better than I do, after all.”

But that’s the line I hear all the time. In so-called “support” groups. Pretty much anywhere where large amounts of people whose lives are medicalized and who don’t care that their lives are medicalized, or don’t know there’s any other way, gather together. They talk about themselves, the way they act, the way they think, the way they feel, in terms of symptoms. And of course since “symptoms” makes everything medical, forcing pills at people sounds almost acceptable.

It’s not acceptable.

And what someone in that situation needs isn’t just words of sympathy.

MindFreedom International (which is, to dispel any myths, not a part of $cientology in any way) is an organization built to counter psychiatry. It has its problems. Mainly that psychotherapy is not targeted as a negative thing, it’s primarily biological psychiatry that’s targeted. And in targeting biological psychiatry, a lot of people have gotten wrapped up in the dogma that there is no such thing as any neurological internal difference that might cause people to act differently, and some people there honestly believe the Refrigerator Mother theory of autism.

But.

If you need help getting out of a forced drugging situation, these are the people who will do it.

The MindFreedom Shield program is all about doing that.

Ideological differences aside, these are people who do things. They go into psych wards and assist people in trying to get out. They go to court with people. Some of their members do take drugs, but they do it voluntarily — and being told “You’ll die if you don’t” is not “voluntary”. And they will help people who are being forced into psychiatric situations they don’t want to be forced into.

If you’re being forced into taking a particular drug against your will, or even heavily coerced, try contacting them. Try finding out if there’s any member groups in your area that will help you get out of that situation. If you don’t agree with them on some particular point, fine (I disagree with them on several points, the biggest of which is that they allow psychotherapists to be in too much control of the movement and its ideas rather than crazy people), but they may still be of assistance when you need it.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

31 responses »

  1. First link should be a .org, not a .com

    I don’t really have anything else to say about this, except that I agree that the final decision to take or not take medication should be made by the person taking the medication.

  2. Oliver Sacks is the only medic I’ve met who even acknowledges the nettle’s existence, let alone grasp it:
    Whether there is much difference, neurologically or ethically, between psychosurgery and tranquillizers is an uncomfortable question that has never really been faced. Certainly the tranquillizers … may, like surgery, induce ‘tranquillity’, may still the hallucinations and delusions of the psychotic, but the stillness they induce may be like the stillness of death – and, by a cruel paradox, deprive patients of the natural resolution that may sometimes occur with psychoses, and instead immure them in a life-long, drug-caused illness.

    I’m pissed off a lot by the total trust in medications shown in ‘support’ fora. Especially medications whose most notable effect is to make one *tractable*.

  3. That is amazing timing … I had just posted something about the MadMovement before class:
    http://www.aspiesforfreedom.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=52915 (let me know if the link doesn’t work) and I actually quoted your reading list post, not becos I found out about MadMovement on this website (which I may have – can’t remember), but becos I googled MadMovement and the 2nd interesting link was to that page of your blog.

    … come back from class and here is this post of yours.
    It would be funny except there is not much funny about this whole topic.

    Everyone I know who was on those kind of drugs it really @#$%^&*ed them up, at very least totally dulled their personality… Which granted that was maybe 3 people I knew, but … enough to get a clue.

    They talk about autism kidnapping children?! I haven’t seen that. I have seen drugs kidnap people.

  4. The major tranquilizers only outwardly tranquilize. As in, they can stop your body from moving much. The inner state (as reported by many people, including me, so not just my perspective here) is far from tranquil. Cal Montgomery described it best as an “agitated stupor”. It feels like all sorts of parts of you are detached from all sorts of other parts of you, but they don’t connect right, and it is a horrible feeling. That’s a very common experience when supposedly “tranquilized”.

    They actually cause me to hallucinate, too. (I don’t, normally.) I know many people who have taken them “for hallucinations” and they still hallucinated while on them, they just couldn’t move around much in response to the hallucinations or anything else, and felt apathetic in a nasty way. I also know someone who said, “After taking those, I can see why they’d break up hallucinations. They break up all thought.”

    Now those same drugs are being prescribed for, let’s see, “sleep”, “anxiety”, “self-injury”, “aggression”, etc. I know of people with severe Tourette’s who won’t even take them, even though they’d control their tics, because the side-effects just plain aren’t worth it. (For what it’s worth, they give me more tics, not less. I’m strange.)

  5. MindFreedom International (which is, to dispel any myths, not a part of $cientology in any way) is an organization built to counter psychiatry. It has its problems. Mainly that psychotherapy is not targeted as a negative thing, it’s primarily biological psychiatry that’s targeted. And in targeting biological psychiatry, a lot of people have gotten wrapped up in the dogma that there is no such thing as any neurological internal difference that might cause people to act differently, and some people there honestly believe the Refrigerator Mother theory of autism.

    Some of the ideas of the anti-psychiatry movement are quite reasonable, such as questions regarding the scientific validity of psychiatry, emphasis in a social model, and opposition to forced commitment or drugging. But there’s also this unstated assumption that everyone is the same, except for our rearing. Genetics either don’t exist or don’t matter. I even argued with a European guy once who was under the distinct impression that autism was the result of abuse. I don’t think he ever met an autistic person and was going by anecdotal evidence of people who’d been abused. (The guy was a psychiatrist who was anti-biological psychiatry). He also said something to the effect that if a biological cause were found for autism, it would be moved to the realm of neurology and that would be that. It’s hard to get across that the biological basis or lack thereof is not the primary issue.

  6. Aside from analgesics and antibiotics (which I generally tolerate quite well), I’m a walking laundry-list of side effects to various medications. Like many people, I’ve also had side effects to meds taken to deal with side effects from other meds. Seven different meds have variously: induced an asthma attack, made me nervous, irritable, have high blood pressure, given me difficulty sleeping, stammering, itchy skin, hot, dry mouth, waking up way-early, nauseous, dizzy, tingling lips, given me the “incredible tireds”, dry mouth, made me very sleepy, have weird hallucinations, increased my ticciness, and/or given me vertigo. Not all of those cognitive effects were even from psychiatric medications!

    This doesn’t make me anti-medication — I am for example, glad to have asthma medication because breathing is of primary importance, profoundly relieved that this particular migraine medication that does reduce the episodes to a tolerable level (for me), and pleased to have available (for the next few years) the HRT to compensate for the surgically-induced menopause.

    I HAVE become much more cautious about taking anything beyond the analgesics and antibiotics categories, and even take those less frequently than I used to. Because I’ve had so many side effects to different categories of meds, I know that despite the larger-scale anatomy seen in my MRIs, my brain/body is wired quite differently. I have to have a very good reason to try anything new, and will only do so by starting at half the lowest dosage for a few days to see how well I tolerate it.

    There are NO drugs “for autism”. Any meds prescribed are for other accessory issues, and I am increasingly dubious about some of those decisions I hear about the kids with whom I work. When used well, some meds make it easier for a person to learn how to deal with stresses, and can be useful on a temporary basis. Not everything needs be a long-term regimen.

    The big problems are with assuming that everyone with X needs meds, and with those meds given to make the client more manageable for the staff. Staff is there to serve the client, the clients are not there for the convenience of the staff! Here I am speaking as someone who is a client in some daily arenas, and a staff member in others. It’s a very interesting montage of perspectives …

  7. The “My parents/psychiatrist/etc are forcing me to take this drug, what should I expect?” question pops up with fair regularity on the community we moderate. Frequently it’s from underage people who made the mistake of telling their parents or doctors that they thought they *might* be plural, and had neuroleptics shoved at them from there. Fortunately, there are enough people on that group who have had bad experiences with psychiatry or know someone who has that they won’t get a general consensus reply of “Take it. Your doctor knows what’s best for you,” but for everyone who finds the community or gets in contact with someone who can help them stay out of the chronic-patient route, there are dozens more who never have that chance, and really believe they have no choice. (Then there are the kind who *want* to be chronic patients and be sick, but… that’s neither here nor there.)

    Thanks for the link. I’ll spread it around on the community in question.

    We have or have had quite a few ‘problems’ (so-called) that most people seem to think you *need* medication for in any form, and a lot of people would probably think it was awful if they found out we weren’t taking anything solely for the purpose of ‘controlling’ them.

    But actually, since some things went ‘under the radar’ for a long time, while psychiatrists were busy trying to treat what they *thought* the cause of our problems was and we didn’t want to tell them about other things for fear of being labeled officially incapable of making decisions for ourselves, we developed our own ways of dealing with certain things. And when we were finally able to break through the conditioning that said “you need these drugs, you will fall apart so completely without them that you will be beyond saving, you will never be able to function without them,” we decided that the side effects weren’t worth what benefits we got out of most of them.

    But I see the fact that we had to develop our own ways of dealing with them as a positive thing. If we *did* rely on drugs to control certain things, if we found one that did consistently work for all of us the way it was supposed to, I expect they would pretty much be our only way of dealing with things– we wouldn’t have others. Therefore, if for whatever reason we couldn’t get access to those drugs– couldn’t refill our prescription, lost our health insurance again or the insurance company refused to acknowledge that we had it again, went on a trip and forgot the pills– we would have a lot more difficulty dealing with those things.

    Of course, then, if we talk about this, we have to deal with the people going “Then that clearly must mean you were MILDLY AFFLICTED and never had the REAL versions of etc etc etc.” For the stuff that was strictly psychological, no. We definitely weren’t “a mild case,” on a lot of that stuff. But the damning thing about that sort of allegation is that in order to counter it and prove that you “know what it’s like to be affected,” you have to violate your privacy and talk about things that may be intensely personal and that you wouldn’t ordinarily want to tell anyone.

  8. On that last sentence, exactly.

    In my case some of the things like that are things that either only I know about, or only I and one or two other people in the world know about (at least in terms of who I’ve told).

    And that’s how it’s going to stay, in fact has to stay, for now. Some things are not only private, but I can see absolutely no way of discussing them that would be ethical towards either me or the people I was discussing them with.

    But it does put me at an extreme disadvantage in a lot of these discussions, because there’s more to a lot of these concepts than I’m able to talk about. But even if I just wrote out exactly what I meant, it wouldn’t read the way I meant it. So, back to discussing the things I can discuss without either being vague or irritating or irritatingly vague.

    I also notice the ways of figuring things out that come from none of the drugs working, or even none of the drugs being remotely feasible for purely medical reasons. There’s a lot of valuable things I just flat-out wouldn’t have learned if the drugs had worked too well. Not that it was just the absence of drugs that forced that to happen (I also had to have the opportunity and ability to come across and make use of certain things), but that was one factor.

  9. I was medicated for a little over three years. I stuffed my feelings of being violated, at first because I thought “those people must know more than me” and then because I was waiting for the perfect opportunity to quit taking them. Both halves of me worked together, as Athena I dutifully took the medications, though I had some horrible confrontations with my parents about that, and as Ivan, I planned carefully my escape from them. I was able to give a guise of compliance because I did take the damned pills and I suffocated half of myself (Ivan) until I started making a plan to get the hell out of the situation. If I had not suffocated half of myself mentally, I wouldn’t have been able to hold out long enough to get away. I had no patience and infinite patience almost at the same time, if that makes any sense.

    AI

  10. Mornin’, A —

    This is not directly related to the post, but thought I ought to give you a heads-up. I’m making some adorable chapbooks of a collage poem of mine, toying with concepts of eugenics and disability and “mercy” killing and medicalization, and illustrating it in the context of the freak sideshows circa 1930’s — and the book is such a melange of quotes and borrowed text that I’m not sure anymore who said what, but I may have quoted you at some point; in any case, I thank you on the acknowledgements page, ’cause even if I don’t quote you directly you’ve definitely been an influence. If you’d like, send me a home address to my personal e-mail (hatch_xanadu at yahoo) and I’ll snail you a copy. You rock!

    Evonne

  11. I just got back from my parents. They are in their late 70s and on a whole parcel of drugs for all sorts of age related disorders. I was surprised to see Gabapentin (Neurontin) which is approved for epilepsy and the pain from shingles. Mum has neither but the doctor insists that she needs this drug.

    By coincidence today’s New Scientist has an article on off label prescriptions. Despite its tabloid headline, “Dicing with Death,” it is a quite reasonable discussion of off-label prescribing which cites the recent work of Randall Stafford (published in Archives of Internal Medecine vol 166 page 1021 for those with access) Apparently Gabapentin is the top off label prescription drug in the USA. 83% of prescriptions are for things like social phobia, migraines, bipolar depression and back pain.

    Risperidone is another. At the time of Stafford’s survey (2001) the only on label use for Risperidone was for schizophrenia. Yet 75% of prescriptions were for other conditions for which there was no scientific support.

  12. Neurontin does treat neuropathic types of pain (including shingles pain, but not limited to it), that often no other pain drugs can touch. But it does not treat stuff that other pain drugs do normally treat. It’s being overprescribed for kinds of pain it doesn’t even treat, because everyone’s too afraid to use opiates even when they’re necessary.

    I actually discovered the pain thing before it was really prescribed for that. Someone prescribed it for seizures, but I’ve had another kind of pain my whole life that fits the description of central or neuropathic pain exactly. And that pain almost disappeared. But nobody knew that back then, and I discovered that use by accident. So now I take it again, and it’s the only thing that’s ever worked (NSAIDs, opiates, etc don’t work, or don’t work very substantially, on this kind of pain).

    But then I know people who need responsible pain management for non-neuropathic pain who are getting Neurontin thrown at them because it’s easier (for the doctors, and for anyone filling out paperwork) than actually trying to treat their pain the right way.

    Risperidone was also over-hyped and over-marketed from the beginning. Even its difference from typical neuroleptics was greatly exaggerated. I was on it not long after it first came out. I could not tell a difference between it and something like Trilafon for the life of me.

  13. Risperidone made my muscles feel stiff……yech. Even though I was on a very small dose of it. For the wrong diagnosis of course. heh

    ai

  14. I really wish I did have the courage of my convictions to undergo minor surgery without any kind of anesthetic at all, I am sure it would be the most helthy option.

    However considering that I don’t have my teeth extracted without an injection, this is something that I am not willing to risk, not because the pain would be a problem, but because my reaction to it might be.

    I am really agonising (is that the right metaphor in this context?) over my decisions, I am quite concerned that during my brief stay in hospital after surgery (which will most likely be under a general) that I will find myself constrained to take pain killers on the general med round, when actually I am not sure whether the pay off is worth it. The thing is I have no idea until it happens whether the “pain” actually is sufficient to justify such a recourse.

  15. laurentius-rex,

    If you are intolerant to analgesics and anesthetics, you need to discuss this with your doctor.

    If you are not, then no, I would not say that going without is necessarily healthier. Depending on the surgery, increased blood pressure, tensed muscles, screaming that distracts the surgeon, might all be things that could make un-anesthetised surgery more dangerous. It also depends on your own pain tolerance (pain usually hurts more than you think it will) and the consequences of pain. If you are a person who will go into a three-month depression following acute pain, then I would suggest that prudence would dictate avoiding pain in the safest possible way.

  16. believe it or not, it used to be routine to carry out certain minor surgery such as a tonsillectomy on children without an anasthetic in the days before the National Helth service, not I suspect through any notions that the quality of pain was any different in children, but I suspect because it was cheaper and simpler.

    The surgeon actually recommends a general rather than a local for reasons of speed, in that he won’t have to keep stopping to mop up the blood, cos under a general he can just put a tourniquet round my arm. Kind of puzzles me why he couldn’t do that under a local, but he also said that under a local he could not guarantee that I would not feel anything.

    But I wonder though is the degree of post operative pain actually any better than if you had the op with no anasthetic at all?

    Sort of drifted of the original topic, but I don’t see opiate based painkillers in any different light to the way I see pyschotropic medications.

    Well when I put a drill into my thumb and took myself into emergency as a result. I was offered antibiotics, (which I considered probably worth it considering the risk of bone infection) but I was not offered pain killers, then again I never asked for any.

    As for any extra sensitivity to modern anasthetics there is no way of knowing till they are administered, but again according to the surgeon if I have survived having teeth out under gas as a child when procedures were not as rigoros as today’s then I have already come through something with far greater risk.

    Mind you being the worrier that I am, there is always the risk of contracting CJD from the surgical instruments, or MRSA.

  17. “Sort of drifted of the original topic, but I don’t see opiate based painkillers in any different light to the way I see pyschotropic medications.”

    I see all drugs in the same way, opiate-based or not. Antibiotics, analgesics, whatever. They have their uses, they have their downsides, and anyone taking them should be doing so voluntarily with informed consent.

    Then you run into questions of who is able to provide informed consent. Infants can’t, so their parents or guardians consent on their behalf. People in comas can’t, so adults are advised to put their wishes in writing while they are still conscious.

    Psychotic people have their ability to provide informed consent severely compromised. So do people in the middle of a traumatic physical emergency. Medical people worry about these things all the time, generating a body of thought that constantly develops/evolves/changes. People subject to medical intervention also worry about these things all the time, generating their own body of thought that is pretty consistently developing in the direction of autonomy of the individual.

    My beloved’s father was mentally ill for years before being hospitalised and medicated, at which point he became much more “normal” and continued taking medication voluntarily after he was discharged. Having witnessed this, my beloved supports involuntary medication and has advised me that he consents in advance to being involuntarily medicated.

    I’m less certain. I want to think that there’s a third way of dealing with a situation where someone’s ability to care for themselves is impaired, but they just want to be left alone and not interfered with.

    Being relatively new to disability advocacy (not to disability, but to the developed body of thought around self-determination) this is one area I need to learn more about. I think it’s crucial for all of us. But this doesn’t have to do with a particular class of drugs: it has to do with how autonomy is understood.

  18. I think a lot of people would be more open to trying medication for a particular condition, if they knew that their desire to stop would be respected. I have met people who benifited (in the opinion of themselves, friends, family and mental health professionals) from various psychiatric medications, and wanted to continue taking them, so they seem to be good for some people in some cases.

    When the only way to get on a medication is through the approval of a professional, and a person can have their freedom dependent on taking or being seen to take the pills, and on not manifesting the behaviors that the pills are supposed to control, that’s where a lot of the problems with the current mental health system come in. People who want treatment for a specific problem are obligated, and in some cases forced to accept the professional view of what’s bothering them, what would be healthy for them, and what can be done to their bodies, over their own thoughts. And people who don’t want to be controlled frequently avoid treatments they’d otherwise welcome because they don’t want to sacrifice their autonomy.

  19. Very recently, my psych wanted me to take Abilify. Which also leads me to think that this psych is not humoring me in rediagnosing me as autistic. But they did something very nasty. They refused other kinds of treatment that I knew would work better for the depression and anxiety (because I tried them before) and said it was off the table now because I refused Abilify and so it ended up that a compromise was reached. I’m ok now though. I’m back on Wellbutrin and a low dose of Klonopin. The Klonopin isn’t ideally what I wanted but good enough for now. It can be good but might have some side effects they don’t mention in literature (like my kidneys being more sensitive IIRC). So far, this has been the most ideal treatment although periodic depression can hit although not as frequent as before. It’s pretty benign. I’ve not had the doctors bring me close to death. Mostly peers at school and even church on a number of occasions.

  20. As far as I am concerned all pyscotropic medications are off limits for me, any attempt to co-erce me either by social pressure or brute force would be a violation of my human rights. I have made it very clear to the GP’s in my practice that is unacceptable. The most popular form of social pressure is for a GP to threaten the patient with refusing to treat them for anything and asking them to find another GP. I have to say I was very forceful with my GP’s about the point. The only reason I ever consented before is because I was vulnerable and niaeve at the time.

  21. hey Amanda, I tried to get to the mindfreedom thing. But it’s something different, Intelliprop or something, and when I clicked on mindfreedom, I saw something for Ipod. Is it that way on purpose? I just need a yes or no then I’ll figure the rest out. Thanks. I’m talking about Mindfreedom International.

    AI

  22. I wrote an online book about my experience with a U.S government psychiatric facility force drugging me and threatening me. I have H.F.A and my story cannot fit on this site. It can be read at NathanYoung.net.

  23. I think part of the problem is the patient’s believe about himself.Some people believe their “problems” can never be solved because theirs is unique unlike anyone else in this world-so a psychiatric label and drugs would serve his belief. Some believe it is normal to have problems and he can be healed by various ways such as by being patient, humble, eating healthy food and exercising well. Hence, the reason why some patients “healed” using these drugs, some heal without needing any drugs and yet some never heal no matter what drug or garbage they take is because of what they believe about themselves.

    Some people just love the attention they get from people, even if it is unhealthy attention (You know, my situation is unique and worse than yours (yours is not tht significant)because “EXPERT” says I am autistic/bi-polar/sychzo, etc.)

    Our mistakes as humans is we fail to remember or believe that God is the one who has power to heal your painful experiences-not drugs. By believing that only drugs/hotdog/burgers(whatever you name it) can “cure” your “condition”-you are actually saying you have no responsibility to actively try your best to deal with the situation that bugs you, in a healthy way because, heck-you are DIFFERENT. You are incapable. I am sad? Oh I cant help it, I’m bipolar. I dont talk to people(duh we all are shy at some point in our lives)-oh what to do? I cant help it I’m autistic! Poor me! So on and so forth.

    I think if “autistic” or whatever labeled people want to really stop being forced drugged-the first change need to really come from you. Stop complaining about your situation and thinking you are the only person on this planet earth who is suffering. Stop the pity me dramas. Yes you can talk and discuss about it maturely but not getting lost into it thinking youre the only one suffering. Go out and see the world how other people are suffering-raped, abused, tortured, etc and wake up. When you act so wimpy, you give chance to people to drug/order you. Being happy is a choice. When you choose not to be happy, when you choose and decide your situation is unique and thus incapable of being dealt with by you-others will decide for you.

    I’m not against seeking help, just I feel one should be less self-conscious and start counting his blessings. Yes you have a problem, so does everybody else. Do something about it, get some advice, and move on. Dont get all caught up into it.

    The people before us live in a much worse conditions yet they dont need drugs. (our ancestors) People in third world countries live in damning conditions yet they can cope without drugs.

    if there are “autistics” now, there were then. But my reservation against autistism labels is that most often the labels are not necessary. The real “autistic” or “NOT NORMAL” people are basically the seriously MAD people-those who laugh and talk alone, walking naked on the streets etc. Otherwise, you are still “NORMAL”. You might not be perfect, (nobody is)-but you are still normal. Just because you are more easily angry than others, or more shy than others, or more quiet or more talkative or more hyper etc than others, doesnt mean you are NOT NORMAL. Doesnt mean you have to be labelled. Doesnt mean you are a “special case”.

    YOU ARE WHAT YOU BELIEVE and for things to change, you HAVE to change FIRST.

  24. All I can say to that is that Julia seems to be ranting at an invisible ghost who did not actually participate in this discussion. Julia: You might not want to read so many motivations that aren’t there into what people are saying, it would make conversation easier.

  25. I just wanted to say I’m about to do hours in radio ads and my book is about to be published. It will be availible in 25,000 locations.

    My book counters specifically in my chapter called Chapter Fifteen – Of Pity, Pride and Ego what Julie said. Yet in a broad sense.. I was threatened with assualt after complaining of the neglect of a minor which resulted in him being removed in a stretcher. I just needed a place to stay during a heat wave when my apartment broke.

  26. I was in a class of 25 adults. I read out a story where a Persian cat that rarely gets outside is munching on grass with quite an appetite. I was surprised to have nearly the whole class tell me that cats don’t eat grass. And, unfortunately, a few of them owned cats. Didn’t they know they were making their cats sick by never allowing them to eat fresh greens?
    People are ignorant of many things. But it is when they are so adamant that they know and I don’t, I just skip to the parallel and think: psychiatrist. And how, these psychiatrists can think they know how to fix people. Well, I guess they do, in the same way a crook might fix a game of cards. I see their websites advertising products and making out they’ve done legitimate studies. Studies which entail forcefully injecting people. It’s sick. Psychiatrists are sick. Their should be a world wide moratorium on psychiatry. Then some of the worst of them should be locked up – in jail. They’re profiting by experimenting on us!

    And then there’s dear Julia (above), “serious mad people are those who laugh and talk alone…” I Wonder if the woman ever had a creative thought.
    Look, someone who walks naked on the street is a nudist. Someone who laughs alone is a comedian. And someone who talks alone is most likely an actor. If, these “seriously mad” aren’t any of these things, maybe they wanted to be, but people have locked them away, threatened and drugged for trying to advance their passions. Perhaps it was the psychiatric “care” that made them “seriously mad”.
    Hi, I don’t agree with any of the labels psychiatrists have given me. I don’t appreciate having my autonomy over my body being taken away by medical “authorities”. I don’t want that to happen to friends. It makes me sick thinking about babies being drugged now. How are these kids ever going to get over the habit? How are any of these kids going to learn to sing if they aren’t allowed to scream and shout? I think those diagnosed with “mental illness” are part of a sly world-wide drug testing campaign. People who normally volunteer to test drugs get paid at least $2000 for a week or so. The diagnosed? Nix.

  27. Pingback: On drugs and depression « reSISTERance

  28. Pingback: Linkspam! | A world that loved monsters

  29. Pingback: [post deleted] | A world that loved monsters

  30. Pingback: Self-determination is a fucking joke and widgetry harms real people | A world that loved monsters

Leave a Reply

