Booklist additions

Standard

The Autistic Authors Booklist now contains:

  • Sarah Stup
    1. Do-Si-Do with Autism (2006) [added to booklist 2006-06-25]

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

5 responses »

  1. What I want to know, Amanda, is: when are YOU going to write & publish a book?

    Your online writing is already extensive enough to fill a book – all you’d need to do is sift through it and figure out how best to arrange and edit it, and write whatever introductory/explanatory pieces you wanted to add.

    You’re the best and most prolific writer on Autistic Rights and related subjects whom I have ever encountered (and there are a lot of good ones out there). I do hope you’ll do a book someday, and I hope you’ll let us readers of your blog know if there’s ever anything we can do to help make that happen.

  2. That would be cool, too, especially if it included some of your own writing.

    I’d certainly want to contribute to it.

    If I ever get around to editing an anthology myself, you’re the first person I’ll ask for contributions – but what with grad school and a kid on the way I won’t have time to take on any projects like that for at least another five years, so perhaps you’ll end up doing it first.

  3. There’s a ton of anthology-type projects I want to do one day. The trouble is, yes, time, and also people. I’d love to get people into them who don’t communicate in standard ways (even standard typing), or can’t read, or aren’t on the net, and so forth. Which would require a lot more outside-the-house stamina than I’ve often got, as well as a lot more social connections than I’ve got.  (And maybe fewer, or less intense migraines.)

  4. Time is the big problem for me. Like I said, all my book projects are pretty much on hold for the next five years. But meanwhile, I’m developing my ideas, my skills, and my connections. Who knows? Perhaps we can collaborate on an anthology project someday, if the timing and such work out.

Leave a Reply

