My Autistic Pride Day post

Standard

It’s Autistic Pride Day, and I’d planned to have some kind of nifty post, but I’m exhausted, so I’m just going to announce something. (Just recently I made three or four posts in a day, now I am struggling to make one, go figure.)

Last week I got called kind of at the last minute to do an interview with NPR. Jim Sinclair and Michael John Carley were also interviewed, and the reporter I think went to a GRASP meeting. They keep moving the projected time for airing around, but right now, it’s something like “Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday of this week, on All Things Considered, or else next week sometime, but we don’t really know yet so this is very tentative.” They’d had two separate tentative dates on which they’d been going to put it on Morning Edition, so I can vouch for the tentative part. Right now they’re trying for All Things Considered.

But the theme of the show is autistic pride, apparently.

I hope I answered the questions well enough. A lot of them had very complicated answers and we were on a short time limit. Also, the reporter asked a few more biographical questions than I was comfortable with, although surprisingly I was able towards the end of those to say “Can we talk about my views, not my life, people can read my blog to find out more of the biographical stuff.”

I am very interested to hear how it sounds with all the interviews put together.

Anyway, what I’m likely to do, is once it airs, I’m likely to try to answer the questions in more detail on my blog, if I end up thinking that what I said was too un-nuanced or something. It was really difficult because it seemed to jump around a lot between things like “What’s wrong with cure?” and “Are there any autistic strengths?” (then “Give examples”) and of course the ever-impossible-to-give-a-short-answer-to “When did you learn to type?” (which I think was the one where I was finally able to articulate my fed-up-ness with the autobiography thing).

It got really confusing when he asked about “Is there an autistic community?” and I said “Actually there’s several,” and then I think he thought I was talking about subtypes of autism, when I was talking about social groupings of autistic people, and then there were lots of sidetracked sorts of questions on that. I hope the editors focus more on views than on my life.

But I think that contributing to a radio broadcast about autistic pride is probably a decent contribution to Autistic Pride Day, which is good, because I’m too exhausted to contribute much else unless I get a sudden burst of energy.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

11 responses »

  1. Q: Ms. Ballastexistenz, I understand that you live in your own little world. Do you know all the other autistics there? Are you all good friends? Do you go on vacations together? Do you prefer low or high functioning, with or without sauce?

    A: Aaaaaagh!

    —-
    I hope it turns out wonderfully and that you end up with your own syndicated talk show …. no, you have a blog, that’s better.

  2. Uly — from the post: “They keep moving the projected time for airing around, but right now, it’s something like “Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday of this week, on All Things Considered, or else next week sometime, but we don’t really know yet so this is very tentative.” They’d had two separate tentative dates on which they’d been going to put it on Morning Edition, so I can vouch for the tentative part. Right now they’re trying for All Things Considered.”

    That’s all I know.

  3. I’m sure it will be available for download as an MP3 or something afte rit has aired. There are some pretty good shows in the NPR archive and I like listening in my time instead of real time.

    I look forward to hearing it even if I miss the original broadcat but please let us know when you hear anything more about the broadcast date.

  4. Not sure how missed that – I think I may skim more than I realize.

    And thanks, NM. I’ll check on their site in a week or so, then.

  5. 18 June 2008, my very first year from finding out I am on the autism spectrum, while I also would love to celebrate – tell the world, realization hits… as life in my new minority group was never how I thought it would be, I attempt against all odds often alone to help let others into my new world, I feel like I have not even got my toes wet by the sea, let alone battled with the tidy wave… so I will join you, find a quite space and find my our joy in the fact that the autism world has welcome me, I now have an extended family, but lost many others on the way… Aspergers Parallel Planet

  6. Happy Autistic Pride Day to all! (6-18) How interesting that it falls on 6-18, 1.618 being roughly equivalent to the Golden Mean! In any case, a happy Summer to all!

  7. By apparent total coincidence, today was also the first day that we used a speech-generating device to talk to a professional. (It was to our former disability counselor at the university we used to attend and had to drop out of, to ask for our records, and it was a text-to-speech program on our new laptop, but she said it was a lot more coherent than many of the speech generators she had seen.)

    So… I guess that, though we weren’t even thinking about it at the time and couldn’t have gone to see her on any other day besides today, it was a perfect date.

Leave a Reply

