Got curious again about book statistics…

Standard

I have trouble with arithmetic and several other things involved, so don’t take these as perfect. This is only about the autism-related books, not about, say, Temple Grandin’s books on livestock. And I know there’s stuff I still need to add to the booklist, so, yeah, this is not exact. (And I also don’t believe in the exact category splits described here, but a lot of people who keep track of these things do, so they’re in here.)

And, yep, I made mistakes (how did I get “one female diagnosed with Asperger’s” instead of “16 females diagnosed with Asperger’s”???) so I corrected some just now.

There are 125 books by 70 authors.

40 of the authors are male, 1 of the authors is intersexed, and 29 of the authors are female.

73 of the books were written by males, 1 of the books was written by an intersexed person, and 51 of the books were written by females.

33 of the authors are diagnosed with autism, and 37 with Asperger’s.

67 of the books were written by people diagnosed with autism, and 58 of the books were written by people diagnosed with Asperger’s.

Among authors, there were 19 males diagnosed with autism, and 13 females diagnosed with autism. There was 1 intersexed person diagnosed with autism. There were 21 males diagnosed with Asperger’s and 16 females diagnosed with Asperger’s.

Among books, there were 36 by males diagnosed with autism, 30 by females diagnosed with autism, and 1 by an intersexed person diagnosed with autism. There were 37 written by males diagnosed with Asperger’s, and 21 written by females diagnosed with Asperger’s.

16 of the authors diagnosed with autism could not speak (17 could speak). 12 of the non-speaking authors were male and 4 were female.

25 of the books by authors diagnosed with autism were written by people who could not speak (42 by people who could speak). 21 of them were written by males and 4 were written by females.

So… basically… there’s somewhat more males than females writing books. There’s somewhat more books by males than females. (There’s only one intersexed person that I know of, who wrote only one book.) And among non-speaking autistic people, there’s a LOT more males than females writing books. There’s slightly more authors diagnosed with Asperger’s than autism, but somewhat more books by people diagnosed with autism than with Asperger’s. Among authors diagnosed with autism, there’s a fairly even balance among speaking and non-speaking authors, but somewhat more books by speaking authors than non-speaking authors.

I keep hearing that there’s more books out there by males than females, but no matter what time period I try to figure out, they’re always either even, or slightly more males than females. (Except when you get down to non-speaking autistics, in which case suddenly there’s tons of males and very few females.)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

3 responses »

  1. Interesting stats.

    40 of the authors are male, 1 of the authors is intersexed, and 29 of the authors are female.

    I wonder why the ratio is 4:3 and not 4:1.

Leave a Reply

