Booklist updates.

Standard

I’ve added the following books to the Autistic Authors Booklist and Facts page:

  • Sofie Koborg Brøsen
    • Do You Understand Me? My Life, My Thoughts, My Autism Spectrum Disorder (FUTURE) (translated from Danish, Kan I forstå mig?)
  • Sharon P. Cowhey
    • Going through the Motions: Coping with Autism (2005)
  • Luke Jackson
    • Crystalline Lifetime: Fragments of Asperger Syndrome (2006)
  • Wendy Lawson
    • Friendships: The Aspie Way (2006)
  • Jonathan Lerman
    • Jonathan Lerman: The Drawings of a Boy with Autism (2002) — with Caren Lerman
  • Tito Rajarshi Mukhopadhyay
    • The Gold of the Sunbeams: And Other Stories (2006)
  • William Stillman
    • The Wizard of Oz (1990) – with Jay Scarfone and John Fricke, not autism-related
    • The Wizard of Oz Collector’s Treasury (1992) – with Jay Scarfone and Tim McGowan, not autism-related
    • The Wizard of Oz : The Film Classic Comes to Life With Sound and Stunning Three-Dimension (2000) – with Jay Scarfone, not autism-related
    • The Wizardry of Oz: The Artistry And Magic of The 1939 MGM Classic – Revised and Expanded Edition (2004) – with Jay Scarfone, not autism-related
    • The Everything Parent’s Guide to Children with Asperger’s Syndrome: Help, Hope, and Guidance (2005)
    • The Everything Parent’s Guide to Children with Bipolar Disorder: Professional, Reassuring Advice to Help You Understand and Cope (2005), not autism-related
    • Autism And the God Connection: Redefining the Autistic Experience Through Extraordinary Accounts of Spiritual Giftedness (2006)
  • Gilles Tréhin
    • Urville (2006)

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

5 responses »

  1. Hi. I didn’t know Luke Jackson had a new book out. And I didn’t know Stillman had written so many.

    I’m glad Tito has written a new storybook, and that Johnathan Lerman and Gilles Trehin get to display their drawings. We haven’t had any picture books since Stephen Wiltshire. It might encourage and inspire a lot of autistic children and teenagers to know that visions like theirs are out there.

    Who’s Cowhey?

  2. All I know about Cowhey is she wrote Going Through the Motions.

    In terms of pictures, Not Just Anything by Donna Williams (both the old and new versions) and Overcoming Autism by Georgiana Thomas both included visual art. Georgiana Thomas has a detailed and precise style, when drawing cities, much like Stephen Wiltshire and Gilles Tréhin. (I think she was an art major, and possibly also considered a savant, but I can’t remember.) Wendy Lawson’s ASPoetry has a little art.

    And one other book that’s almost entirely art is An Exact Mind, some of which resembles some of my own art.

  3. We got an email from Donna last week updating the info on our book list and adding her new title. She asked us to link to the listings of her books on the Jessica Kingsley website (we did, while retaining the amazon.com links) because the publishers’ editions of these books can be hard to get. So I’m passing that on.

  4. Okay. I’m not sure if I’m going to end up doing that or not, the main reason being that I’ve contemplated linking all the books, but that then gets way too complicated, and I’m not sure whether linking just one author’s books (when a good chunk of those books on my list are from JKP) makes sense. I’ve tried (although obviously not kept up well) to link authors’ names to their personal websites if they have one, though.

  5. Hi. If you are wondering who Sharon Cowhey is
    you can read about me in my book. I am new to
    the author world. Thanks, Sharon

Leave a Reply

