Yet Another Blog Move, and health update

Standard

I still need to get all the posts categorized on this blog. I am liking WordPress a lot though in the meanwhile (thanks Laura). I’ve imported all my posts and comments from blogspot, and I’m working on hand-moving all the posts from the blog before that one, and then the posts rescued from Google’s cache of the one before that.

In the meantime, I’d appreciate it if people who’ve linked to my blogspot posts would (where possible) edit their links to point to posts here.

Meanwhile, in further “the cure is worse than the disease” news (and I don’t mean autism), my body seems to have decided that the best reaction to the latest migraine drug is to fill up with water just about everywhere, including (in the last few days) my lungs. So I’ve got instructions to avoid salt, take the stockings off that were controlling the swelling in my legs, try to stay upright where possible… a lot of this the exact opposite of the instructions to reduce swelling in my legs and feet. (I guess when they realize it’ll go elsewhere otherwise, they figure it’s better to let it go to feet.) In the meanwhile breathing gets really interesting when I lie down, and I’ve managed to annoy Laura to death with body-awareness questions. (I’m currently trying to ignore all unfamiliar sensations sent to me by my torso because I have little hope of understanding or even locating most of them, and I doubt worrying about it will help.)

And, yes, I’ll call someone if things get any worse. The hope is that the swelling will go down on its own in a week or two now that I’ve stopped the medication and started following those other instructions. But last night was worse than the night before, even though I stopped the medication the day before, so who knows.

This whole migraine medication mess is reminding me of a minor incident back when Michelle Dawson first became notorious and controversial in the mainstream autism world. People were saying that we were not autistic because we lacked certain traits, some of which had nothing to do with autism, and some of which did, but most of which we had or did have. The people at autistics.org posted a response listing a lot of those traits, including a lot of health problems.

At that point, one guy responded by turning it around: “If they have all those problems, and they haven’t fixed them, then why should we listen to their advice about autism? Those things are easy to fix.”

I’ve just stopped my fifth or sixth major migraine-prevention medication. In this case, it was actually working on the migraine, unlike most of the others, but is now causing intolerable and dangerous problems. I’m of course going to keep trying other things: I prefer nasty pain and puking a lot to fluid in my lungs, but I view lack of pain and lack of puking as preferable to either alternative. But this isn’t simple. There’s no formula. Even for things I would rather get rid of, it’s not like they’re simple to fix.

The guy’s reasoning was off in several ways to begin with, but this particular medication mess makes it clear how far off one of those ways is.

Anyway, new blog, yet again. I like this one better than either blogger or the previous blogging software I had.

About Mel Baggs

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods. Crochet or otherwise create constantly and compulsively. Write poetry and paint when I can. Physically and cognitively disabled. Anything you hear in the media or gossip is likely to be oversimplified at best and wildly inaccurate at worst, the only way to get to know me is to actually know me. I'm not really part of any online faction or another, even ones that claim me as a member. The thing in the world most important to me is having love and compassion for other people, although I don't always measure up to my own standards there by a longshot. And individual specific actions and situations and contexts matter a lot more to me than broadly-spoken abstract words and ideas about a topic. My father died a couple years ago and that has changed my life a lot in ways that are still evolving, but I wear a lot of his clothes and hats every day since he died and have shown no sign of stopping soon.

8 responses »

  1. Ooooh,

    pretty. I’ll go update the link I have. This IS cozy.

    I hope you get the water business under control. Sounds scary. So far my ASD kid can manage xyr migraines with OTC cheap “migraine” aspirin/tylenol/caffeine. I hope it stays that way. S/he started out with just ocular migraines but for about a year now, they’ve been real head migraines that will make him/her vomit if not got under control.

  2. I went to the emergency room tonight because my face was swelling too. They gave me a diuretic and sent me home. But they seemed curiously oblivious to the fact that having edema all over my body might be a problem, especially while lying down, and that the way my lungs sound while sitting up is not the same as how they sound while lying down. (And, since I have a fair bit of experience with trouble breathing, they are not bad enough for a stethoscope to necessarily pick them up. That does not mean they’re doing well, and I was trying to head it off before it got that bad, but they didn’t seem to grasp that always.)

    But they did give me a diuretic and said “Go home and pee” basically, so I’m home and I haven’t peed yet but I’m sure I will soon. I’m sick of doctors, or is it “Doctors make me sick”?

    And yes, I love this blog software. It’s really easy to customize. And I like this skin, too.

  3. GUH! Just can’t win. If it works it tries to kill people. Bleh.

    You already know my take on docs & autistic people & heads up…nevermind.

    It sucks at either end of the fluid retention thing too, yuck. I’d offer you to balance that with my diabetes insipidus, but unfortunately it doesn’t work that way.

    I hope you pee soon so you don’t need to deal with more underconcerned people.

  4. Ay. Hope you get better/get better medications soon.

    Nice new site, like the banner. Ok, very nosey question, but is that you in the banner? (Sorry, can’t help myself)

  5. Ta! I think you can add ‘not thinking to look if you can click on stuff’ to your list of disabling aspects of being NT :)

  6. I hope by now you’re feeling better.

    Love the new site. WordPress rocks! And your theme fits well with the wonderful mix of topics you blog about.

Leave a Reply

