Please bear with me as I fiddle with this theme.

Standard

I had begun to despair of finding any new WordPress theme that I liked, despite being pretty sure I wanted to change it. I went through the entire main directory of free themes (which took forever) and found lots of clever designs but nothing I liked enough to want to use. Finally I found this old one on another site.

The main drawback is that it’s in German, and the second drawback is that it’s a bit kludgy in areas and even then isn’t quite what I want. So I’m going to need to translate it into English (I’ve started but not finished that, thanks to Google’s translation tools), as well as fixing the kludginess (I hope I figure out how, because it’s irritating the crap out of me) and tweaking it until it’s what I want (I hope I figure out that, too).

And yes the comments link is there, it’s just barely visible until I figure out which part of the stylesheet influences it (I’ve never formally learned stylesheets, I just bang on various things until they work, hopefully). The background used to be a hideous orange color, so I’ve had to modify all the text colors after I changed the background to white. (The background may not stay white, but it should stay a color that these text colors are readable on.)

And I’m doing all of this while being climbed on by an irritable cat who wants something that I can’t figure out what it is.

7 responses »

  1. I once had a blue cat that looked exactly like the one in the theme as a kitten :)

    If you have any trouble with the translation, Google can’t find out to make sense of it or whatever, let me know. I grew up in Germany, speak the language fluently. Email: marian(dot)bgst(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Fey looks a lot like that when she sticks her nose in her armpit. Main difference is paw color (and I might eventually be able to edit even that, I have already edited the graphic to make it less orange, but right now my main goal is fixing the theme itself).

  3. I like the cat pawprints a lot. I know this isn’t finished yet…For some reason the purple letters are easier on my eyes then the blue and I am kind of hoping a green pops up somewhere…It’s looking very like you…Love that sleepy kitty on top!

  4. Thanks! It is a blend of a photo of Fey, with what (on its own) was the old clunky looking background to the theme. The original photo (which is among my flickr photos somewhere) is already very purple and blue, from the sunlight catching the blue couch a certain way to the purple quilt she was on. So it fit perfectly.

Leave a Reply

